Thread: Programming koralia powerheads

Regular Vistor

Programming koralia powerheads

I'm new to the apex unit. I just purchased the apex lite with a ph probe. Need some help on where to actually plug my koralias in on the eb8 I heard sometimes they don't work well with the apex. I have one 1400 gph koralia that I want to be on for 15 seconds then off for a minute and a half then repeat itself, how would I do that. I also have a 600 gph just blowing on my sps. I want it to be on for 2 seconds and off for 2 seconds then repeat constantly. Please any info would be helpful. Thanks

Please provide the specific models so we can better advise.

Regular Vistor
    Hydor Koralia evolution 1050 (my mistake 1050 GPH not 1400GPH) and Hydor Koralia evolution 550.

Thanks... that helps

The 550 is definitely going to need to be plugged into outlet 4 or 8 o a EB8 (or any outlet of an EB4)

The 1050 is going to be hit or miss.... try it on a TRIAC outlet (EB8 #1-3 or 5-7)n and manically turn that outlet on and off slowly - at least a dozen times. If it always shuts off properly, then you're OK. If it fails to turn OFF even once, it'll need to go on #4 or #8

Regular Vistor
    ok i kinda figured that might happen. Wont the constant turning on and off of the pumps cause those outlets to burn out quick?

Frequent Visitor
    The outlets will last longer than the Koralias.

But seriously... even though the new Koralias are advertised to be OK for "wavemaker" situations, they really can't handle the constant on/off cycles. You'll be contacting Hydor for warranty replacement parts in short order if you run them on a quick on/off cycle. I think you're going to find the 2 second cycle is just too fast. It takes a few seconds for the things to get spinning in the right direction (if they do at all), and I doubt 2 seconds is going to be long enough. I wouldn't even think about anything less than 10-15 seconds. Even with that, I think you'll find the noise is somewhat annoying.