Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: 3 floats for RODI ATO?

  1. #1
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    88

    3 floats for RODI ATO?

    Hey everyone, first real go around with the programming here so I apologize for simplistic errors in advance.

    I have a redsea max s650 that has a built in ato chamber of 10 gallons. I'm looking to outfit this chamber with 3 float switches to automate the RODI refilling of this chamber.

    My thought is to have the lowest float turn on an outlet that opens 2 solenoid valves (for redundancy) to begin filling the chamber until the middle float valve is opened which will then close both valves. It will not refill until the lowest float valve is then closed (lowest position=closed). I additionally want to install a 3rd float valve above the other 2 as a fail safe so that if the highest float valve is closed then it will additionally close the solenoids and trigger email alarm.

    ATOLO valve is open when no water present
    ATOHI valve is closed when no water present
    ATOEM valve is open when no water present

    Is this the correct orientation of the floats? or should I change them?

    On the outlet for the solenoid I have the following:

    Fallback OFF
    If ATOLO CLOSED Then ON
    If ATOHI OPEN Then OFF
    If ATOEM CLOSED Then OFF

    on the base email "outlet" i have

    If ATOEM CLOSED Then ON

    Any suggestions/corrections is greatly appreciated!

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    17,507
    Your code is fine. Although I would invert the emergency high switch so that it is open when up/closed when down and modify the programming accordingly.
    I'm not a Neptune support rep. Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  3. #3
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    88
    Thanks Russ, I appreciate your time.

    Just out of curiosity what is the reasoning behind inverting it?

  4. #4
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    17,507

    3 floats for RODI ATO?

    The best practice is to orient the float switches and use programming so that OPEN is the safe "do no harm" condition.

    In the case of the upper switch, if you invert it as suggested, It will allow the ATO refill to happen only if the switch is closed. If the switch is open or a wire gets cut or disconnected or the BoB gets unplugged, nothing will happen.
    I'm not a Neptune support rep. Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    88
    understood. Thanks again for your time it is greatly appreciated.

  6. #6
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    88
    so i have all 3 floats wired up however i'm still not getting the outlet to turn on

    Current code is

    Fallback OFF
    If ATOLO CLOSED Then ON
    If ATOHI OPEN Then OFF
    If ATOEM OPEN Then OFF


    all 3 inputs are showing closed under dashboard yet the outlet is not on.

    any thoughts as to why?


    i'm sure it's something insanely simple.

  7. #7
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    88
    yeah... i figured it out... it was my stupidity.

    Would help if i had the outlet in auto


    before I do this any thoughts on 110 volt solenoids I know they generally cause large spikes when switched on or off will this have any adverse affects on the energy bar 8 outlets?

  8. #8
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    17,507
    The solenoids I use draw 5 watts. Even if they did have a bit of a surge when powered up, it's not an issue.
    I'm not a Neptune support rep. Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  9. #9
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    88
    great thanks for the info

  10. #10
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    88
    If i wanted to add a maximum run time for the fill cycle on this what would be the best way of implementing that?

  11. #11
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Us, central
    Posts
    54
    Hi Isomorphic,
    How goes your setup? Any luck sorting out run length limit?

  12. #12
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    88
    Circling back to this... based on my code from above , how would I add a maximum "fill" time to have the outlet shut off if the top float and emergency float fails for some reason?

  13. #13
    New User
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by isomorphic85 View Post
    Circling back to this... based on my code from above , how would I add a maximum "fill" time to have the outlet shut off if the top float and emergency float fails for some reason?
    Looking to do this exact thing... did you ever figure out a way to do a "max fill time" for the ATO?

  14. #14
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    88
    Yes, I also have it non run during a set time in the morning because I have a well system with water treatment that "backwashes" so i keep the ATO from being active during that time

    my current code:

    Fallback OFF
    If ATOLO CLOSED Then ON
    If ATOHI OPEN Then OFF
    If ATOEM OPEN Then OFF
    If Time 01:30 to 04:30 Then OFF
    Defer 000:10 Then ON
    Defer 000:10 Then OFF
    Min Time 999:00 Then OFF
    When On > 180:00 Then OFF

  15. #15
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    11,278
    Quote Originally Posted by cope413 View Post
    Looking to do this exact thing... did you ever figure out a way to do a "max fill time" for the ATO?
    Neptune added a feature that does this directly without the roundabouts that once were required. Add the following line where X is the max fill time you want.

    When On > XXX:XX Then OFF

    If/when this activates it will set the outlet to manual OFF and prevent it operation until you set the outlet back to AUTO. You can be notified when this happens with the line below in your email code.

    If Error ATOname Then ON

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •