Thread: Controlling my ATO

Frequent Visitor

Controlling my ATO

Hi guys I am new here so please excuse me for anything I post. I tried to get answer to my question here but I am a newbie to programming and hence need help.

I need my Apex unit to control my JBJ ATO which I use to supplement KALKWASSER to my system. I use Rio 1100 pump to do the job right now however since I have most recently added KALKWASSER to my ATO reservoir I want to control how much I can add to keep my ph under 8.4. For now the JBJ is just connect to my apex with ON position (no programming at all). I need to control in such a way that I can spread the supplementation of KALKWASSER over the period of 24hrs instead of adding a whole lot at the same time when the sensor in the sump closes and activates the RIO pump and most importantly keeping the ph under 8.4. The evaporation rate of my system is roughly 1G a day. Thanks.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Frequent Visitor
    Bump anyone

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That 382GPH pump is way too big to use safely for ATO, especially with kalk; it's a recipe for disaster. At its rated flow rate, it only takes about 9.4 seconds to move 1 gallon. Use a *much* smaller pump.

That being said, here's how I'd do it...

Program the Apex to turn on the ATO outlet for a brief period each hour, allowing the JBJ using to turn on the pump if ATO is needed. Allow only enough time per day to match the evaporation rate of the tank plus a bit of padding. Basically, you'll use the Apex to control how often and how long the JBJ will be allowed to operate.

Your tank loses about 1g/day to evaporation... let's add 10% to that... 1.1g. Calculate how long it takes for your appropriately-sized pump to move 1.1g. Divide that by 24 hours to determine how much is needed per hour. Then use the Apex OSC command to turn on the ATO outlet for that amount of time each hour. Add a high pH cutoff.