Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27

Thread: [video] How to get a full-color touchscreen for your Apex for just $50

  1. #1
    VP Sales and Marketing Terence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Morgan Hill, CA
    Posts
    962

    [video] How to get a full-color touchscreen for your Apex for just $50

    Terence Fugazzi :: VP Sales and Marketing :: Neptune Systems

  2. #2
    NSI Member iamchadster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Salem, Oregon
    Posts
    2,446
    39.99 right now Terence. I just looked and they are on sale.
    Chad

  3. #3
    Guest
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Caribbean
    Posts
    121
    Hi, does this also work with the Classic?

  4. #4
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    15,890

    [video] How to get a full-color touchscreen for your Apex for just $50

    Yes, it works with any Apex model linked to Apex Fusion.
    I'm not a Neptune support rep. Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    74
    Awesome video, you made it nice and clear, I normally use my phone, but for $50USD I might go for it.

  6. #6
    Fish Whisperer cypherljk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    448
    Actually the exclusion of the display save Neptune Systems money ;-) I use a tablet because I have multiple controllers. One ring to rule them all. Now if Fusion could only do all the features of the classic interface I could get rid of the old cabled displays entirely. Good video though..

  7. #7
    VP Sales and Marketing Terence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Morgan Hill, CA
    Posts
    962
    Actually, no. It saves the customer money. How, well in this model not only have we added wifi and power monitoring, we also added a 100w power supply and five more outlets with the 1Link connections. On top of that we upgraded the probes as well. So, rather than up the system price by $100, we decided to give people the choice and either use their existing apex display if they are upgrading, use their smart phone, buy a dedicated tablet, or purchase a display at the new discounted price of $100.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Terence Fugazzi :: VP Sales and Marketing :: Neptune Systems

  8. #8
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    29
    Can you update Fusion so that you can have multiple "display profiles" so that I can customize my static tablet display's layout/visible controls based on what device I am using? For example it would be nice to have my phone show all my controls. The tablet by my reef tank only show items on that specific tank. Another tablet on my freshwater tank upstairs show me only it's devices. Then maybe another table profile for my dosing room for seeing dosing controls and refilling my DDR containers.

  9. #9
    New User
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    PST
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Terence View Post
    Actually, no. It saves the customer money. How, well in this model not only have we added wifi and power monitoring, we also added a 100w power supply and five more outlets with the 1Link connections. On top of that we upgraded the probes as well. So, rather than up the system price by $100, we decided to give people the choice and either use their existing apex display if they are upgrading, use their smart phone, buy a dedicated tablet, or purchase a display at the new discounted price of $100.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I get what you are saying about allowing the coinsumer to decide on a monitor but I just don't see where the $100 savings you are talking about is? The neptune gold was less than $799 which included a display. so how am I saving $100? seems like I'm paying more to get less with the new system. and the other thing that worries me is that so much is riding on the eb832 to function correctly or you are out of alot of $$$. as it is eb8 outlets fail alot for many folks.

  10. #10
    VP Sales and Marketing Terence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Morgan Hill, CA
    Posts
    962
    What you are not considering is how many costly advancements we have included in this system that do not exist in the Apex Gold package (now retired). Things like built-in WiFi, power monitoring on every outlet, and double junction probes are the key examples. Had we included the display, the price would have been $899 for the bundled system.

    To answer your other concern, the biggest causes of failure for the Energy Bar 8 is users overloading the Triac controlled outlets or having devices running outside of spec - especially when you first turn them on. This is less likely to be an issue with the EB832 since all outlets use relays.

  11. #11
    New User
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    5
    Is there a way to get audible alerts on this? I haven't figured it out yet.

  12. #12
    New User
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Canton, GA
    Posts
    12
    I was in the fish store a couple weeks ago listening to them trying to sell a new Apex to a customer. The salesman said that with the new Apex you no longer need a WXM module or AWM module for communicating with lights and pumps since the built-in wifi (aside from network connection) allows it to do it. Is this true?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    NSI Member iamchadster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Salem, Oregon
    Posts
    2,446
    Wrong thread to post your question but no that isn't true at all. The wifi built in is for Internet connectivity. It has nothing to do with communicating with ecotech devices or devices connecting via the AWM.

    Those modules are still necessary.
    Chad

  14. #14
    New User
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Canton, GA
    Posts
    12
    Sorry, thought I was still in another thread. That is what I thought, but I didn't want to call him out on it if I wasn't certain. Sorry to post in the wrong thread.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Regular Vistor OurCoralReef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    23
    Fire tablet 7" is on sale Black Friday $33.33

  16. #16
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    219
    Hello,

    I bought one yesterday in London for 29 pounds!

    All the best,
    Rui

  17. #17
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    US, Pacific
    Posts
    16
    Is there any way to force the scaling of fusion on the browser? I want to display only two columns instead of three in landscape mode so the buttons (feed modes) are easier to hit.

  18. #18
    New User
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3
    I just got myself the tablet and now have it mounted. Why are all my outlets shaded out. I have no control.

  19. #19
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    15,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Dogger View Post
    I just got myself the tablet and now have it mounted. Why are all my outlets shaded out. I have no control.
    Click on your username, click on Settings, click on Display. The gray bars are explained there.
    I'm not a Neptune support rep. Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  20. #20
    New User
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by RussM View Post
    Click on your username, click on Settings, click on Display. The gray bars are explained there.
    Perfect Thanks.

  21. #21
    Regular Vistor OurCoralReef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    23
    How do you get it to save the username and password my tablet keeps kicking me out and i have to enter all that info manually

  22. #22
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    39
    Joining the ranks this week. Just ordered my tablet!

    Like to see how others have this monitor installed.
    Last edited by linko; 09-17-2017 at 11:49. Reason: error

  23. #23
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    39
    Quite a challenge to get dolphin loaded.

    Once I had dolphin the rest went smooth.

    Next to figure out where it will be mounted

  24. #24
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    eastern
    Posts
    47
    i just have mine mounted on the side of my cabinet with heavy duty velcro

  25. #25
    NSI Member eschulist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN USA
    Posts
    209
    I've been running the Fire with Dolphin for awhile and after awhile it has started to annoy me. I have developer options enabled as well as various settings configured inside Dolphin but it still boots me back to the home screen after awhile. I often have to reopen the browser and relog back into Fusion. This becomes frustrating when I want to very quickly turn off a piece of equipment or start a feed mode.

    Last night I spent a few hours digging around Dolphin and alternative browsers. None seemed to keep the page open and information current. Then I discovered Kiosk Apps. These are designed for this very specific purpose of keeping a webpage open all the time, in full screen, with locked buttons and features so it stays on the Fusion webpage.

    The one I ended up going with was "Fully Kiosk Browser Lockdown". There are others that would probably work better but many of them required a monthly subscription or were very pricey to unlock the best features. This app is free if you just want the browser to be full screen and on 24/7.

    I however spent $6 to unlock the "pro" features without a watermark. You can run the pro features to at least see if they are worth it to you with a watermark. The ones I really like are the ability to turn the display off when I know Im never going to be looking at it, and motion activation. The display is essentially asleep in a screen saver mode all the time, but as soon as I walk in front of the tablet or wave my hand the Fusion Dashboard immediately turns on allowing me to quickly access the features I need. After it detects no movement for a minute (amount of time is configurable by you) it goes back to screen saver mode (black, or another website entirely)

    There are lots of other Kiosk type features to completely lock the tablet down so it can't be used for anything else if thats important to you.

    http://www.ozerov.de/fully-kiosk-browser/ Open this page on your Fire Tablet and click and hold the APK download link. You want to make sure you are downloading the APK itself and not the zip the browser wants to download for you. Once its downloaded open the App and insert www.apexfusion.com as your starting URL. Swipe from left to right on the left part of the screen to access all of your options.

    I am in no way affiliated with this App or website but it has worked great for me and just wanted to share.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •