Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: VIDEO: Does your Apex have a Heartbeat?

  1. #1
    VP Sales and Marketing Terence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Morgan Hill, CA
    Posts
    962

    VIDEO: Does your Apex have a Heartbeat?

    You should watch this and enable this feature ASAP!
    Terence Fugazzi :: VP Sales and Marketing :: Neptune Systems

  2. #2
    Control Freak In Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    West Unity, OH
    Posts
    98
    Mine does now! Thanks for the video, very helpful for a newb like me

  3. #3
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    36
    I'm also on board. Thank you


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    163
    Boo-Yahhh....

  5. #5
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    190
    What is supposed to happen when there is no connection? My modem has been offline for a day due to changing providers. I thought I would get some kind of alert, via email or text or something, but nothing so far. If I try fusion, it says it's disconnected. Hmmm. Heartbeat was verified enabled a few days ago.

    Sent from my SM-N915T using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    VP Sales and Marketing Terence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Morgan Hill, CA
    Posts
    962
    Check your notification settings.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Terence Fugazzi :: VP Sales and Marketing :: Neptune Systems

  7. #7
    Control Freak In Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    West Unity, OH
    Posts
    98
    Internet outage at my house today and this worked perfectly! Got a notification, called the wife and confirmed, power was on so everything worked as it should, just no fusion. Rebooted system when I got home and back to normal!

  8. #8
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    US, Central
    Posts
    342
    I have to say - Great Feature! I tripped my GFCI to test it out and it worked. I still have not isolated what is causing the trip, so I nervously check Fusion while at work. Now I can rest a little easy as I will get notification. Until I get a backup battery for the unit, this is a great backup...and even then, this will work in the case of a network outage like Muttley said.

  9. #9
    NSI Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    71
    I have a question - if you have your apex head unit plugged into a UPS via the 12v port - does the heartbeat still notify you of power outages, if say my eb832 loses power, but the head unit is still getting power from the 12v?

  10. #10
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    US, Central Time
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by Xero View Post
    I have a question - if you have your apex head unit plugged into a UPS via the 12v port - does the heartbeat still notify you of power outages, if say my eb832 loses power, but the head unit is still getting power from the 12v?
    Add to your EmailAlm

    If Power EBName Off 000 Then ON

    I do that for each EB I have

  11. #11
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    US, Central
    Posts
    342
    Seems as though I have had 7 False Heartbeat Alarms in the past 12 hours. Apex is running fine and my home's network connection is running fine. Looks like I will be turning this feature off as fast as I embraced it.

  12. #12
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    15,879
    Quote Originally Posted by clsanchez77 View Post
    Seems as though I have had 7 False Heartbeat Alarms in the past 12 hours. Apex is running fine and my home's network connection is running fine. Looks like I will be turning this feature off as fast as I embraced it.
    I doubt they are false alarms. Far more likely is that your Apex is not communicating with Fusion consistently. Click on the Home menu in Fusion then choose Diagnostics to see the recent connection history.
    I'm not a Neptune support rep. Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  13. #13
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    US, Central
    Posts
    342
    Quote Originally Posted by RussM View Post
    I doubt they are false alarms. Far more likely is that your Apex is not communicating with Fusion consistently. Click on the Home menu in Fusion then choose Diagnostics to see the recent connection history.
    Your correct, "false" is not the correct word. However my home network is working perfectly fine. In fact I am showing as disconnected now while I am using the same network to make this post. I did run the diagnosis and it only confirms the disconnects. The helpful tips are mostly not applicable. Again, this is why I don't like to use online interfaces over local control when local control is an option.

    Having said that I will give my network a reboot, since rebooting the Apex did not make a difference.

    And for what its worth, my Classic interface is working and reports "ApexFusion OK"

  14. #14
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    163
    So I was traveling last week. Wife called and told me we had a power outage. My UPS on my cable modem had been removed as it was bad. Sure enough a few minutes later I got the heartbeat Alert..... Way To Go Neptune Systems...

    A car had hit a pole and knocked out power for 55 minutes. Thanks to my APC 3000 UPS, my system did not hiccup...

    I have since replaced that UPS.

  15. #15
    New User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Tyler Texas
    Posts
    8
    Wish I saw this yesterday.

    Breaker popped and I lost 4 fish including a 14" Vlamingi Tang I've had for 8 years.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •