Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 35 of 35

Thread: Radion FWG4 Pro

  1. #26
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Illiois, Central
    Posts
    45
    I love the WXM because it is so easy to use and reliable. But I hate the idea that I can't managed my G4 properly. Unless they get a lot of requests for an updated program from the freshwater users, they will probably not update for the Radion FWG4. What's the link to Alain B's video as I was told I wouldn't be able to see 8 channels.

  2. #27
    New User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Granite Bay CA.
    Posts
    5
    It is https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPH_-KL5c0s Apparently you have to force the firmware update because it is not mandatory dose not show as being available.

  3. #28
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    15,085
    The only Radion that has 8 channels is the marine G4Pro. The freshwater G4P only has 5 channels. Updating the WXM firmware cannot change that fact.
    I'm not a Neptune support rep. Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  4. #29
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Illiois, Central
    Posts
    45
    The plant tank man: Saw the video. I went through all those steps with a support rep a few weeks ago. RussM is correct, my model will never see 8 colors.

  5. #30
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Illiois, Central
    Posts
    45
    So I decided to just go with the Ecotech program as I wanted to utilize the new colors. When I was using the Apex, it wasn't using the warm white as I thought. I just got off the phone with Ecotech to confirm that my programming was correct and to help me with the moonlight programming. Now I am seeing a huge difference in colors between the G4 and G3. The G4 side is a lot brighter and the G3 side is not as bright and the colors are warmer. Even working with the Ecotech program, it would be very difficult to match both sides of my current setup. The plants under the G4 side are pearling like crazy and very little under the G3 side.

    I guess at this point, I will be thinking of upgrading my G3 to the G4 and not use the Apex until they upgrade, if ever, the Radion FW program.

  6. #31
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Illiois, Central
    Posts
    45
    Update: I upgraded to the G4 and purchased the reeflink. I am really happy with this decision and now at this point I am experimenting with the different default colors and adjusting my nutrients.

  7. #32
    New User
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    2
    Hi, I have been lurking in this forum for a while, and it has been very helpful. I just purchased a pair of the latest XR15 Freshwater Pro and a WXM module to go over my planted discus tank. I already have an Apex classic controlling the tank, so I would like to also control the lights with the apex. Has there been any progress with the firmware for the freshwater version of the Radions? Also, could someone confirm that the all the leds are being used when controlling the lights with the apex and mapping the 6 channels in the apex to the 5 channels in the lights? Thanks!

  8. #33
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Illiois, Central
    Posts
    45
    I haven't heard of any updated software for the FW pro. I would definitely contact support and let them know that you are waiting for an update for these lights. The more people who contact them, the better. I am very happy managing the lights through the WMX. If you have consistent loss of connection, let me know and I'll give you the name of the extender I am using.

  9. #34
    New User
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    2
    I just got a reply from Neptune support:

    "Unfortunately we do not support theRadion XR14 Freshwater G4 Pro, this could possibly happen in the future, ifEchotech gives the information to be able to add this to the WXM. You have done the correct think by identifying the correct channels eventhough they don't match up color and name wise."

    Maybe we should also contact Ecotech support, so we can encourage these two companies to continue making their products work together.

  10. #35
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Illiois, Central
    Posts
    45
    Ecotech wants nothing to do with the Apex. They will only tell you to use the WMX. We just need more freshwater people to contact Neptune. They told me that until they get the demand for an upgrade, it is not economically feasible for them to put in the time or money to invest in an update in their software.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •