Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ATO Programming issue

  1. #1
    Frequent Visitor bescher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Nashotah WI
    Posts
    204

    ATO Programming issue

    I found this I believe somewhere on this forum
    i tried it but it doesn't work.
    i am posting the article and then what my system has liked
    i do want to use the second float as a safety measure Twice
    Once in my ATO outlet ( I'm using a aqualifter pump)
    and somewhere else that I can use it in case the sump overflows

    thanks

    the example
    This is a simple 2-float ATO program. Float 1 is the main float that determines your sump water level - it should normally be UP/OPEN. Float 2 is mounted 1" higher and acts as a safety in case float 1 fails - it should be normally DOWN/CLOSED. Both floats are mounted in their default orientation as shipped by the manufacturer.


    The Defer prevents water movement from falsely tripping the float. The Min Time prevents the ATO from running but once every 10 minutes.


    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If Sw2 Closed Then ON
    If Sw3 Open Then OFF
    Defer 002:00 Then ON
    Min Time 010:00 Then OFF

    My outlet likes the above
    but it seems to not turn off until it goes to sw3
    how can I change it


    Gee I just understood what sw3 does but I want the ATO to turn off after it opens
    thanks

    Last edited by bescher; 05-14-2017 at 06:42. Reason: Change code

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor Alain B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    2,568
    You are mentioning float 1 and 2 , and switch 2 and 3 , are you sure you labeling is right ? Also make sure off the float status when you operate them manually . Close : Up or Down or vice versa .
    Alain

  3. #3
    Frequent Visitor bescher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Nashotah WI
    Posts
    204
    Quote Originally Posted by Alain B View Post
    You are mentioning float 1 and 2 , and switch 2 and 3 , are you sure you labeling is right ? Also make sure off the float status when you operate them manually . Close : Up or Down or vice versa .
    This is the actual code below
    it is working

    Fallback OFFSet OFF
    If SW2 CLOSED Then ON
    IF SW3 OPEN Then OFF
    Defer 002:00 Then ON
    Min Time 005:00 Then OFF

  4. #4
    Frequent Visitor bescher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Nashotah WI
    Posts
    204
    Quote Originally Posted by bescher View Post
    This is the actual code below
    it is working

    Fallback OFFSet OFF
    If SW2 CLOSED Then ON
    IF SW3 OPEN Then OFF
    Defer 002:00 Then ON
    Min Time 005:00 Then OFF

    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If SW2 CLOSED Then ON
    If Sw3 OPEN Then OFF
    Defer 002:00 Then ON
    Min Time 005:00 Then OFF


    this code after running it all day and night yesterday
    it will not work
    help please

  5. #5
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Lansdale, PA
    Posts
    589
    In your description you mention float 1 and switch 2. In the code you reference switch 2 and switch 3. Alan B. asked how they were related and you did not answer. There is no way for us to help if you do not answer questions.

    In what way is the code not working. What is id doing and what would you like it to do.

    Answer the questions and people wll try to help.

  6. #6
    Frequent Visitor bescher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Nashotah WI
    Posts
    204
    1. Quote Originally Posted by p7willm View Post
      In your description you mention float 1 and switch 2. In the code you reference switch 2 and switch 3. Alan B. asked how they were related and you did not answer. There is no way for us to help if you do not answer questions.
    Quote Originally Posted by p7willm View Post

    In what way is the code not working. What is id doing and what would you like it to do.

    Answer the questions and people wll try to help.
    sorry I misunderstood
    SW2 is float 1
    SW3 is Float 2

    i have them as suggested one higher than the other by about 1 inch
    last night neither shut off and tank got 4 gallons of Fresh water

    again here is the code

    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If SW2 CLOSED Then ON
    if Sw3 OPEN THEN OFF
    Defer 002:00 Then ON
    Min Time 000:15 Then OFF

  7. #7
    Frequent Contributor Alain B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    2,568
    First confirm that SW2 ( float 1 ) is CLOSED when down .
    Second confirm that SW3 ( float 2 ) is OPEN when up .

    Manually operated the float and confirm the state of the float on the tile .
    Alain

  8. #8
    Frequent Visitor bescher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Nashotah WI
    Posts
    204
    Will test I did the other day and they seemed fine but will doublecheck and let you know the results

    thsnk you

  9. #9
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Lansdale, PA
    Posts
    589
    Lets go through the code, assuming the switch names are correct and when they are open/closed.

    It's going to stay off until SW2 closes/down and stays that way for 2 minutes (because of the Defer 002:00). After SW2 is closed for 2 minutes the outlet switches on. As soon as the water level rises and SW2 opens/up the outlet shuts off. If something goes wrong with SW2 and it does not open the water continues to rise until SW3 closes/up and the outlet stops (you probably want to put SW3 closing in your alarm outlet since normally it would not close). Now the outlet will stay off for 15 seconds (you probablymean min time 015:00 to make it wait 15 minutes).

    Other than the staying off for 15 seconds instead of 15 minutes the code looks goog. The problem is probably that the switches are names wrong or the open/closed and up/down are not as described.

  10. #10
    Frequent Visitor bescher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Nashotah WI
    Posts
    204
    Quote Originally Posted by p7willm View Post
    Lets go through the code, assuming the switch names are correct and when they are open/closed.

    It's going to stay off until SW2 closes/down and stays that way for 2 minutes (because of the Defer 002:00). After SW2 is closed for 2 minutes the outlet switches on. As soon as the water level rises and SW2 opens/up the outlet shuts off. If something goes wrong with SW2 and it does not open the water continues to rise until SW3 closes/up and the outlet stops (you probably want to put SW3 closing in your alarm outlet since normally it would not close). Now the outlet will stay off for 15 seconds (you probablymean min time 015:00 to make it wait 15 minutes).

    Other than the staying off for 15 seconds instead of 15 minutes the code looks goog. The problem is probably that the switches are names wrong or the open/closed and up/down are not as described.
    thanks haven't had time to check the floats as yet but will start with that and go from there.
    i do want the the outlet to turn on immediately but I do want it to wait if I turn off the return pump to feed for example

Similar Threads

  1. ATO programming issue
    By Sevitz5 in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-27-2018, 08:02
  2. Help! ATO programming issue
    By scuzy in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-2017, 18:36
  3. Question: Weird power issue with ATO programming
    By mamadubba in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-23-2016, 13:46
  4. ATO Programming and Switch Issue?
    By Jballauer in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-21-2015, 16:50
  5. Review My Program Programming Issue with ATO?
    By MrSkumFrog in forum AquaBus Modules, Probes, and Breakout Boxes
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-27-2014, 20:08

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •