Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can I put a timer on the plug of my skimmer

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    9

    Can I put a timer on the plug of my skimmer

    Hey There!

    I would like to invest on an Apex Systems but I have a question: Can I put a timer on the plug of my skimmer on the Energy Bars 6 (European) when there is a power cut? As I don't want to get problems if the water level in too high for the skimmer, I would like to put a timer to switch on the skimmer 1min after the power is back...

    Thanks !

  2. #2
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    15,389
    Yes, you can.
    I'm not a Neptune support rep. Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  3. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    9
    Just by using the Energy Bar? :-)

  4. #4
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    15,389
    You'll need to program the Apex to do that. Typically, the return pump outlet is programmed to have a brief startup delay after a power outage or Apex restart. The skimmer outlet is then typically programmed to work in sync with the return pump outlet - if the return pump is off, so will be the skimmer, and when the return pump comes on, the skimmer starts up a bit later (usually 1-3 minutes) to allow the water level in the sump to normalize before the skimmer gets turned on.
    I'm not a Neptune support rep. Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  5. #5
    New User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    9
    Thanks RussM! :-)

  6. #6
    Apex User
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    6,436
    I suggest using the following statements at the end to ensure it NEVER turns on when water level is high. Replace Highsw with your High level ATO float switch name if you have one, replace Return with your return pump outlet name, and the 5 min defer can be adjusted to your liking.

    Fallback OFF
    Set ON
    If Outlet Return = OFF Then OFF
    If HighSw OPEN Then OFF
    If Power APEX OFF 001 Then OFF
    Defer 005:00 Then ON

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  7. #7
    New User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    9
    How Can I connect my ATO High Level and return pump to APEX?

  8. #8
    Apex User
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    6,436
    If you use a dedicated ATO unit rather than using the apex for ATO you can't, but you can get another float and either buy or make a break out box to connect it to the apex. It's really useful to get notified when your water level isn't right.

    The return pump would have to go in a energy bar outlet if you have one free. Most people have those set to turn off during feed timers so that food stays in the tank for fish to eat and not end up in the sump. I also turn mine off during water changes or low water level so I don't damage my pump from running it dry.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  9. #9
    New User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    9
    Ok thanks, I'm using Tunze ATO but will switch when the ATK will be available in Europe ^^

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •