Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Faulty Variable Speed Ports: Need help confirming they are bad.

  1. #1
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    18

    Faulty Variable Speed Ports: Need help confirming they are bad.

    I have been trying to control 2 DC pumps via the variable speed ports to no avail. I need to confirm if the ports are working correctly before I dive into the pumps themselves. Here is what I am doing and the results.

    I am testing via male ethernet cable end (patch cable)... so pins go R to L 1-8.
    I am getting 0v between 1&2 and 5&6 (which I believe are +/- V for V1 and V2 respectively)
    I am getting 10-14v between pin 6&8 and 2&8? (so 2 and 6 are hot) and 8 is ground?

  2. #2
    Apex Guru zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    5,489
    Make sure you are using the right convention for the numbering...



    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  3. #3
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    Make sure you are using the right convention for the numbering...



    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.
    Well then this is even more confusing....

    This would make ports 3 and 7 hot?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    14,734
    Mebeknob, from your first post, it sounds like you were using the reverse of the actual standard pin numbering.

    This diagram may help, as it's specifically for the variable ports.

    https://forum.neptunesystems.com/sho...ull=1#post9636

    Do not measure on any pins other than between 1-2 and between 5-6. Any voltage you read on other pins is of no interest. Set the variable outputs to manual ON first - I'm assuming you did that, but it can't hurt to mention.
    I'm not a Neptune support rep. Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by RussM View Post
    Do not measure on any pins other than between 1-2 and between 5-6. Any voltage you read on other pins is of no interest. Set the variable outputs to manual ON first - I'm assuming you did that, but it can't hurt to mention.
    Yes they are manually on.


    Just to clear up any confusion.
    Based on this picture I get about 2 mV between 1&2 and between 5&6. Just enough for my multimeter to pick up polarity.

    I'm just confused what the results mean. 🤷🏽*♀️


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Frequent Visitor Torx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Blenheim, Ontario
    Posts
    393
    What DC pumps are you trying to control?

    Sent from my SM-G925W8 using Tapatalk
    Current: 120 Gallon Peninsula DIY system.

  7. #7
    Apex Guru zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    5,489
    If you are getting wrong readings with the correct pinout, the first thing to do is repeat the test with an Ethernet cable that you know works (connects to the internet on another device) and see if you get identical readings.

    If you still get bad readings, inspect the port in the VDM for bent pins.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  8. #8
    Frequent Visitor Torx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Blenheim, Ontario
    Posts
    393
    ONLY test pin 1&2 and 5&6 according to your picture of the yellow cable. Do not test any other pins together. Also be sure that you have a patch cable, not a cross over cable. It normally will say on the cable if it is a cross over cable.

    Depending on what DC pump you are using, some are not controllable with the Apex. If you try, you could damage the ports. I read that you are using a DC12000. Are you sure it is the DC and not the DST or DCT? If the pump is blue, then you should be good. If it is any other color, then it is not the DC and it is not controllable with Apex. I only ask as they stopped making the DC pump a long time ago.
    Current: 120 Gallon Peninsula DIY system.

  9. #9
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Torx View Post
    What DC pumps are you trying to control?

    Sent from my SM-G925W8 using Tapatalk
    Jebao via controller. But I will attack them next once she know these ports are good/bad.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    18

    Faulty Variable Speed Ports: Need help confirming they are bad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Torx View Post
    ONLY test pin 1&2 and 5&6 according to your picture of the yellow cable. Do not test any other pins together. Also be sure that you have a patch cable, not a cross over cable. It normally will say on the cable if it is a cross over cable.

    Depending on what DC pump you are using, some are not controllable with the Apex. If you try, you could damage the ports. I read that you are using a DC12000. Are you sure it is the DC and not the DST or DCT? If the pump is blue, then you should be good. If it is any other color, then it is not the DC and it is not controllable with Apex. I only ask as they stopped making the DC pump a long time ago.
    Yes I was careful to get the DC1200. It is the blue bodied ones.

    Also Ive used two separate patch cables with the same results.

  11. #11
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Torx View Post
    ONLY test pin 1&2 and 5&6 according to your picture of the yellow cable.
    I get 3-4 mV between those pins when the ports are fully on.

    Does this mean the ports are bad?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Frequent Visitor Torx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Blenheim, Ontario
    Posts
    393
    Sounds like time to contact support

    Sent from my SM-G925W8 using Tapatalk
    Current: 120 Gallon Peninsula DIY system.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •