Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Another Salinity Probe Issue

New User

Another Salinity Probe Issue

I'm new to Apex. I just picked up my unit on Friday night. I waited 'till Sat to open the box and get rolling. I took my time. I watched the videos. I read the how to.

All went well until the salinity probe calibration. I read about the issues with this probe so I thought I was ready. Floated the calibration fluid (my tank is holding steady @ 77.3 f) and followed the prompts in Fusion.

The first few (3 or 4) attempts at the dry phase failed on 'Acceptable Range'. After finally getting to step two, it failed for the same reason. Now I get the:

Error
    Calibration Failed. Probe was not able to be calibrated.

I waited overnight for the probe to dry and ran the calibration again. Same result.

I waited overnight again for the probe to dry, and ran the calibration again. Same result.

Faulty probe? User error? Can't say I'm happy to be in the Apex club at this point.

You need to rehydrate the probe. Let it soak in your sump for a week and then try again.

You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

Frequent Visitor
    THe conductivity probe needs to settle in before you try to calibrate it. Depending on which videos you watched, this may not have been mentioned. For example, the BRS videos show this calibration being performed right away. I tried the same and it also failed. If you do a quick search on this forum you will see it is a common issue. I waited a week and did it again, and it game out near perfect. I currently read 53.0 solution at 52.7, which is good enough for me.

Frequent Visitor
    Great just did this myself. Received the probe, calibrated it and it is off by almost 10. Going to leave it for a week and see what happens again.

New User