Thread: New setup, looking for Apex advise

New setup, looking for Apex advise

Hello all, I am a veteran freshwater aquarist, mostly African Cichlids and such. This will be my first foray into salt water beyond just fish, and I am looking for some help with the types of Apex equipment I would need.

Thank you very much.

-JCL

Here is what I have so far:
    - 135G Oceanic tank / built-in overflows
    - Lifereef sump
    - Iwaki main pump
    - Lifegard mechanical, chemical, and 25W UV modules
    - Lifereef protein skimmer
    - Pan World / Blue-Line pump for skimmer
    - Going to purchase ozone generator, haven’t decided which one yet
    - Two ecotech vortech MP40 power heads
    - Four Kessil A160WE Tuna Blue LED’s
    - Blue Line 500W titanium heater
    - Titanium grounding probes for sump and tank
    - I am getting an RO/DI setup to produce water for water changes and top-off
    - The cabinet has a tub in it to catch spills and splashes, and can hold about 30 gallons of a flood before overflowing
    - On order is 135lbs of live sand, and 135lbs of live rock

Here is what I think I might need so far:
    - Apex model 2016 kit
    - Automatic top-off kit
    - Automatic feeder + food
    - Leak detection + modules
    - Modules to control Vortech and Kessil?

Here are some specific things I would like to do:
    - Flood sensors in the cabinet and on the floor
    - Detect the level in the aquarium and shut off main pump if it is too high, such as if the returns clogged
    - Detect the level in the sump, and if it is too high shut off the protein skimmer / ozoner / air pump
    - I see there is a flow sensor, but not a pressure sensor, wondering if I could setup something to tell me when it is time to change / clean the micron and carbon
    - Monitor the number of hours the UV is on so I know when to change the bulb

Here are my main questions: