Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Could this code work to utilize my DOS as an ATO pump, and How would I add the code?

  1. #1
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Posts
    40

    Question Could this code work to utilize my DOS as an ATO pump, and How would I add the code?

    Hi everyone

    I'm trying to figure out if my code will work to keep my ATO going. ATORes is my resivoir, and I dont want it to run if it empties, while ATOTnk is the sensor in my Tank.

    If ATOTnk CLOSED Then ON
    Defer 000:30 Then ON
    If ATOTnk OPEN Then OFF
    If ATORes CLOSED Then OFF
    When On > 000:45 Then OFF

    Would this work? It seems that when setting the pump to 'auto' it works for the 45 seconds, but then the auto goes to off.

    Any ideas?
    Alex

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    That is a terrible waste of the DOS capabilities to use for ATO. If for some reason you want to use the DOS, you want to go about it a much different way.

    First, roughly estimate the volume that your tank evaporates each day and double that. Set a schedule to "dose" that amount evenly over 24 hours.

    In the advanced tab add these two lines.

    If ATOTnk OPEN Then OFF
    If ATORes CLOSED Then OFF

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  3. #3
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Posts
    40
    I understand its a terrible waste. We just moved to the States, and downgraded to a 28 gallon, where we have nothing to currently dose. We don't want to spend any more money on the setup, so I thought I could utilize it for now. Is there a reason why you're required to estimate how much will evaporate? Is it a fail-safe?

  4. #4
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by alexx2208 View Post
    I understand its a terrible waste. We just moved to the States, and downgraded to a 28 gallon, where we have nothing to currently dose. We don't want to spend any more money on the setup, so I thought I could utilize it for now. Is there a reason why you're required to estimate how much will evaporate? Is it a fail-safe?
    Yes and it also slows the dosing rate to a slow drip. You could start with a gallon if you don't know for that size tank and then fine tune later by looking at your dosing logs.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  5. #5
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Posts
    40
    OK, thanks for the information. Makes much more sense now.

Similar Threads

  1. ATO Code To Shut OFF When Pump Turns OFF
    By alxgrcn in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-25-2019, 13:52
  2. Help! Can I add a time between parameter to my OSC dosing code?
    By debbygoldman in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2015, 08:44
  3. For Those With ATO - Add a couple more lines of code
    By o2manyfish in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 04-19-2015, 12:48
  4. Question: Add code for if PH then on Email/Text Alert
    By CoralNerd in forum APEX Fusion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-12-2015, 13:29
  5. Review My Program Will this ATO code work?
    By Nola26 in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-08-2015, 06:42

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •