Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ice cap gyre module error

  1. #1
    New User Realest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    T0m 0s0
    Posts
    12

    Ice cap gyre module error

    My ice cap gyre module constantly errors out, causing pump to just pulse and not spin. I turn off/on power to the ice cap module and it restarts normally without issue.

    I've been monitoring it to see if it's related to my apex day and night profile time changes but it's at random intervals.

    I am getting frustrating and I have no faith I could go on vacation with this module and am considering going back to the Maxspect controller.

    Any one else experience issues with this ice cap module?



    Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Frequent Visitor rkpetersen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    150
    I am using the Gyre XF250 with the proper Icecap adapter, and have had no problems like you describe. I have numerous profiles running at different times during the day, and just one at night.

    Now it's a different matter, but the flow generated by the Apex/Icecap is much less than that generated with the Gyre's own controller. This surprised the heck out of me; I mean, aren't the Gyre and Icecap made by the same company? Fortunately for me, this Gyre is far too powerful with its own controller (at the higher percentages) for my tank; so the Icecap actually provides more usable range where I need it.

  3. #3
    New User Realest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    T0m 0s0
    Posts
    12
    I too have the XF250 and noticed the pump doesn't flow as hard as the same % as the Maxspect controller. I am going to pay attention, but I think the 30% I have programmed that might stall it out periodically. I have some experimenting to do. It's difficult because it is so random and intermittent.

    Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Frequent Visitor rkpetersen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    150
    The other thing to consider is maybe your Gyre needs cleaning, although I don't know if that would cause the Icecap to error.

  5. #5
    New User Realest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    T0m 0s0
    Posts
    12
    I was emailing with Carlos. He had suggested a cleaning, which I did. Didn't stop the errors

    Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    15,546
    Quote Originally Posted by rkpetersen View Post
    I mean, aren't the Gyre and Icecap made by the same company?
    No... Icecap is a brand owned by CoralVue; the Gyre XF pumps are manufactured by Maxspect, which is a different company. But, CoralVue is the US & Mexico distributor for Maxspect products... that may be how you got the idea they are the same.
    I'm not a Neptune support rep. Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  7. #7
    New User Realest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    T0m 0s0
    Posts
    12
    That and they have an ice cap gyre 4k pump that looks like it's a rebranded Maxspect

    Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Frequent Visitor rkpetersen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by Realest View Post
    That and they have an ice cap gyre 4k pump that looks like it's a rebranded Maxspect
    ^^^ This is why I thought that, plus unsubstantiated rumor from lfs employees, which I should really know better than to listen to, ever.

  9. #9
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Slidell La
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by Realest View Post
    My ice cap gyre module constantly errors out, causing pump to just pulse and not spin. I turn off/on power to the ice cap module and it restarts normally without issue.

    I've been monitoring it to see if it's related to my apex day and night profile time changes but it's at random intervals.

    I am getting frustrating and I have no faith I could go on vacation with this module and am considering going back to the Maxspect controller.

    Any one else experience issues with this ice cap module?



    Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
    The only times I get or have an error light flashing on my ice cap interface modules is one of three things.
    1) The wires inside the module are not installed correctly in that they have wire insulation between the contact point, though this would normally be an issue when first using product.
    2) Apex needing to be updated along with web pages, sounds strange though I have had issues with older firmware causing stinks with programming and having weird things happen like one pump taking a break during certain modes. Updated and havent had an issue.
    3) After cleaning the gyre pumps if you have one side or both bearing sleeves too tight against the magnet shaft or gunk built up there will be too much resistance in the motor turning the blades and will trigger an error code. A couple times after cleaning the gyres I had to remove the end caps and rotors to re adjust the bearings and make sure there was good clearance between them and the housing.

    As discussed earlier Maxspect and Ice Cap are two separate companies both are just distributed by Coral Vue.

    One other thing about the Ice Cap module interfaces is sometimes you have to power cycle them after an error event to reset the module if the code is still showing up. Another thing I've had to do after getting multiple error codes. Make sure you are hooking up the cables to the pump and power cables in the correct order so you do not get another error code.

  10. #10
    New User Realest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    T0m 0s0
    Posts
    12
    After much diagnostic I believe I've narrowed it down to the gyre cable. Still require a replacement to confirm.

    Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •