Thread: New Apex - pH and conductivity probes

New User

New Apex - pH and conductivity probes

Hi y'all,

I am new to Apex. I got a brand new Apex 2016 and started setting it up last night. I am having an issue with the pH and conductivity probes.

When I tried to calibrate the pH probe, the iPhone app hung up and I could not complete the calibration with the first reference solution (pH7.) After waiting several minutes, I cancelled the calibration. When I tried to calibrate with the same solution again, the same thing happened. I checked the connection on the base unit and found that the probe was securely connected to the correct location. Do you think that the pH probe is defective?

As for the conductivity probe, I see the reading is way too low. The graph on apex.local started at 32.6 last night and it is trending downward (31.9 currently.) I checked the salinity with Milwaukee digital refractometer and another hand held refractometer and confirmed that both readings were 1.026. I did not float the packet of the reference solution in my tank before the calibration to equalize the temperature of the solution to the temp of the tank water. Do you think this might be the issue?

On brand new probes I always let them soak in my tank for at least 24 hours cause they are usually too dry to take calibration well (water needs to build up in the pores of the glass and get a coating film on the outside of the glass). Storage solution is supposed to prevent this issue but there are usually some dry spots after shipping.

For the pH, try manual calibration instead of auto calibration. Auto is very finicky. I let my probe sit in each solution for 5 minutes then move to the next.