Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Help with an outlet program

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7

    Help with an outlet program

    I'm looking for alittle programming help. I would like to use the Occillate function with my AC wave pumps.

    Here we go:

    I want to simulate tides and waves with the pumps.

    I would like one one to OSC every 30 seconds from 04:00-06:00
    then on from 06:15 to 09:00
    then OSC 09:00-15:00
    then off 15:00-17:00
    then OSC 17:00-22:00
    then on 22:00-02:00
    then off 02:00-06-15

    i also want it off with feed A

    if I can get this one wave pump set I can adjust the other 2 to compliment.

    thanks for the help!

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    OSC 000:00/000:30/000:30 Then ON
    If Time 06:15 to 09:00 Then ON
    If Time 15:00 to 17:00 Then OFF
    If Time 22:00 to 02:00 Then ON
    If Time 02:00 to 06:15 Then OFF
    If FeedA 000 Then OFF

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  3. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7
    Does this start at 04:00?

    is that 30 minutes or 30 sec

  4. #4
    Frequent Visitor Todd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    583
    Mjstauffe, your original parameters conflict: the 2:00 - 6:15 OFF overlaps the OSC from 4:00 - 6:00.

    Try:

    OSC 000:00/000:30/000:30 Then ON
    If Time 02:00 to 04:00 Then OFF
    If Time 06:15 to 09:00 Then ON
    If Time 15:00 to 17:00 Then OFF
    If Time 22:00 to 02:00 Then ON
    If FeedA 000 Then OFF

    The OSC is MM:SS format

  5. #5
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7
    Thanks, but if I want it to turn on then off every 30 seconds would it not be 000:00/000:30/030:00?

  6. #6
    Frequent Visitor Todd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    583
    Quote Originally Posted by Mjstauffe View Post
    Thanks, but if I want it to turn on then off every 30 seconds would it not be 000:00/000:30/030:00?
    Yes, I corrected it after I had submitted it.

  7. #7
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by Mjstauffe View Post
    Does this start at 04:00?

    is that 30 minutes or 30 sec
    Typo on my part. Corrected above.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  8. #8
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    Typo on my part. Corrected above.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

    Thanks guys, I worked the posts and the test run great.

    I appreciate your help.

    Now if I could only set the Feed cycles to go off on a timer....

  9. #9
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7
    If I want a pump off for 10 minutes when the autofeeder goes on, how would I program that

  10. #10
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by Mjstauffe View Post
    Thanks guys, I worked the posts and the test run great.

    I appreciate your help.

    Now if I could only set the Feed cycles to go off on a timer....
    You can indirectly using virtual outlets but not with the feeds themselves.

    VFeed (Virtual outlet)
    Set OFF
    If Time XX to YY Then ON

    Device
    (Existing code)
    If Output VFeed = ON Then OFF

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  11. #11
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7
    I don't quite understand virtual outlets yet, so I have my autofeeder set to feed at 10:00 then 4 hours later.

    If I want the pump and skimmer to turn off for 10 minutes when those feeds happen, how do I associate the vFeed outlet with the autofeeder outlet so it triggers the other devices?

    In the code above, is the XX and YY minutes or does it have to be in the 000:00 format?

  12. #12
    Frequent Visitor Todd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    583
    Virtual outlets are sections of code that are not tied directly with a physical device or power socket. Using VOs can allow more complicated programming that would not otherwise be possible.

    There are a couple ways to do what you want. The easiest method does not require a VO. If you intend to always activate the feeder at a specific time, just add an If Time statement to each outlet to activate/deactivate as needed. If on the other hand, you anticipate the feed (or other activity) happening at random/intermittent times, then a VO might make sense.

  13. #13
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7
    Ok great, I appreciate the input. I ultimately would like to set up all the outlets once and if I change my auto deeded schedule I would like to avoid going in to each outlet and updating the time again.

    If that hat sounds like a VO then can I get some guidance on how to knock that out?

    thanks

  14. #14
    Frequent Visitor Todd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    583
    Ok, the next easiest is to use the If Output command, assuming the response is 1:1. Do you want the outlets that shut off to coincide directly with the feeder shutoff? Or do you want there to be additional delays? Describe the exact behavior that you want for each device.

  15. #15
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Cincinnati, ohio
    Posts
    709
    Quote Originally Posted by Mjstauffe View Post
    I don't quite understand virtual outlets yet

    I would suggest that that you download the reference manual and read through it. You can find it in the Neptune links at the top of the page.

Similar Threads

  1. HELP please how do you program an outlet
    By thebagman in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-17-2017, 17:04
  2. vo outlet program
    By Rugid in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-12-2015, 19:48
  3. Help! Cannot program and outlet
    By Jstn in forum Apex Classic/Apex Lite/Apex Jr
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-24-2014, 09:26
  4. Possible to program Vortech virtual outlet to default outlet?
    By iCraigerz in forum Apex Programming for Vortech, Tunze, & Other Controllable Pumps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-01-2014, 02:19
  5. Help! program outlet
    By num1biker1 in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-11-2014, 21:45

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •