Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Stupid question for coding alarms

  1. #1
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    20

    Stupid question for coding alarms

    So when I code an alarm, I was under the impression that...

    "When RO_TOP closed them ON"

    ...would mean that when the optical sensor named RO_TOP is closed that the alarm would be on...

    It continuously wants to default to...
    " when RO_TOP closed then OFF"


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by dputt88 View Post
    So when I code an alarm, I was under the impression that...

    "When RO_TOP closed them ON"

    ...would mean that when the optical sensor named RO_TOP is closed that the alarm would be on...

    It continuously wants to default to...
    " when RO_TOP closed then OFF"


    Thanks
    Neither of those are right the correct syntax is

    If RO_TOP CLOSED Then ON

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  3. #3
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    20
    Ok my bad I'm typing...
    If RO_TOP CLOSED then ON

    And it defaults to OFF

  4. #4
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    20
    Never mind, all of sudden it wants to accept it.

    How would i program it so that it won't sound unless the sensor is closed for more than 5 min.

    Also is there a way to have an alarm sound once?

  5. #5
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by dputt88 View Post
    Never mind, all of sudden it wants to accept it.

    How would i program it so that it won't sound unless the sensor is closed for more than 5 min.

    Also is there a way to have an alarm sound once?
    You can do both by using two virtual outlets. Not it will technically send twice (once for high water and once Set OFF). Note that this needs to be the firdt alarm or the HighH2Ostop can interfere with other alarms.

    HighH2O
    Set OFF
    If RO_TOP CLOSED then ON
    Defer 005:00 Then ON

    HighH2Ostop
    Set OFF
    If RO_TOP CLOSED then ON
    Defer 006:00 Then ON

    Email
    Set OFF
    If Output HighH2O = ON Then ON
    If Output HighH2Ostop = ON Then OFF
    (Other alarms)

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  6. #6
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    20
    Nice!

  7. #7
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    20
    ok so here;s what I did for the virtual outlets outlets

    Outlet: RO_TopStart
    Set OFF
    If RO_Top CLOSED Then ON

    Outlet: RO_TopStop
    Set OFF
    If RO_Top CLOSED Then ON
    Defer 060:00 Then ON


    Alarm:
    If RO_TopStart = ON then ON
    If RO_TopStop = ON then OFF
    (Other Alarms)


    and I'm getting an error when I try to update

  8. #8
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    20
    if i already have a physical out (the sensor) being tripped why cant i do something like

    Physical Outlet: RO_Top
    optical sensor

    Virtual Outlet: RO_TopStop
    Set OFF
    If RO_Top CLOSED Then ON
    Defer 060:00 Then ON

    Alarm
    If RO_Top CLOSED then ON
    If RO_TopStop = ON then OFF

  9. #9
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by dputt88 View Post
    if i already have a physical out (the sensor) being tripped why cant i do something like

    Physical Outlet: RO_Top
    optical sensor

    Virtual Outlet: RO_TopStop
    Set OFF
    If RO_Top CLOSED Then ON
    Defer 060:00 Then ON

    Alarm
    If RO_Top CLOSED then ON
    If RO_TopStop = ON then OFF
    Because you said you wanted the sensor to be closed for 5 minutes before the alarm is triggered. If you want it instantaneously, you can do that.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  10. #10
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    20
    yes, i removed the delay. i still get errors though. im only looking for the alarm to turn off after an hour.

  11. #11
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Might be the order you did it. Make sure you name and code the VO first then add to your email. If you did that and got an error, please post the error you got.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  12. #12
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    20
    Ill post screenshots tomorrow of how I've done things

  13. #13
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    20
    First, a question. Can I have the optical sensor RO_TOP which is plugged into port 4 of my FMM/ATK turn off the solenoid (RO_SOLENOID) which is connected to my EB832? or would the solonoid and the optical sensor both have to be plugged into the same FMM?

    ok so here is what i have as far as only getting a single alarm for when the reservoir is full

    VO1 Named : RO_TOPSTART
    Set OFF
    If RO_TOP CLOSED Then OFF ###RO_TOP is the optical sensor

    VO2 Named : RO_TOPSTOP
    Set OFF
    If RO_TOP CLOSED Then ON
    Defer 060:00 Then ON

    TEXT_ALARM
    Set OFF
    If RO_TOPSTART = ON then ON
    If RO_TOPSTOP = ON then OFF
    (Other Alarms)

    and here is the error i get


  14. #14
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    SE Mass
    Posts
    366
    Add OUTPUT before RO_xxx on line 2 & 3

Similar Threads

  1. Help! Might be a stupid question.
    By Mlsaffer in forum APEX Fusion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-10-2019, 03:16
  2. Alarms coding
    By tcfdff1071 in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-24-2019, 17:18
  3. Question: Stupid Question probably
    By laserjim in forum DŌS & DDR – Dosing and Fluid Metering System
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-07-2015, 16:33
  4. Stupid Question
    By cypherljk in forum Apex Classic/Apex Lite/Apex Jr
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-20-2014, 04:46
  5. Stupid question
    By cal_stir in forum Updating Apex Classic Firmware & Web Pages
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-06-2014, 12:12

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •