Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Emergency stop switch programming.

  1. #1
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Fredrikstad Norway
    Posts
    30

    Emergency stop switch programming.

    Got a quick question, I have wired up five different switches to my bob. I want them to turn of different types of equipment for maintenance etc. I have also mounted an «emergency stop» switch that I want to use to stop everything in case I need it some day.

    What will be the best way to program this? I have verified that all switches work and when the equipment is on they are all «open» so basically does this look right?

    Set On
    If Sw1 CLOSED then Off

    All input is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Frequent Visitor Todd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    583
    Yes, but with that many switches, I would either rename them to something meaningful or use virtual outlets for each. VOs are beneficial if you need more complex functionality. You would then use If Output [VO] = [ON/OFF] Then OFF in the appropriate component outlets.

  3. #3
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Fredrikstad Norway
    Posts
    30
    Thanks, I haven´t used VO´s a lot. Could somebody give me a concrete example on how to program an emergency switch? Or maybe a switch to turn of skimmer, return, Zeovit reactor etc.

  4. #4
    Frequent Visitor Todd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    583
    For an Emergency shutoff, you probably don't need a VO. I am assuming the switch latches in the closed state when activated. So for each outlet that you want to shut down, just add:

    IF SHUTOFF CLOSED THEN OFF

    where SHUTOFF is the renamed switch.

    So for instance, a skimmer might have the following:

    FALLBACK ON
    SET ON
    IF OUTPUT RETURN_PUMP = OFF THEN OFF
    IF SHUTOFF CLOSED THEN OFF
    DEFER 002:00 THEN ON

  5. #5
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Fredrikstad Norway
    Posts
    30
    Thanks Todd, do you have any idea if I can connect the presserende switch from Avast Skimate Locker directly to the Bob? I would like to get tid of that bulky fitting you put the skimmer plug into.

  6. #6
    Frequent Visitor Todd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    583
    I don't have direct knowledge of the Avast, but looking online it appears the pressure switch is built into the relay box and controls 120VAC power. It may be possible to disassemble the Avast outlet and remove the switch which then could be used with the BoB. But that is speculation on my part. An alternative might be to remove the hose at the top of the acrylic tube and affix a simple float switch.

  7. #7
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Fredrikstad Norway
    Posts
    30
    Thanks again Todd, I disassembled the box and just pulled everything connected to power out and connected some wires on the switch itself. Now it works like a charm!

  8. #8
    Frequent Visitor Todd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    583
    Great. I use a similar pressure switch/tube setup as a high level override for my ATO. It is rated for 120VAC, but is just a simple contact switch so guessed the Avast might use something similar.

Similar Threads

  1. Help! warning vs emergency programming
    By debbygoldman in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-31-2022, 06:10
  2. Question: warning vs emergency programming
    By debbygoldman in forum A2 Apex/ApexEL and A3 Apex Pro/Apex/Apex Jr
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-25-2021, 08:25
  3. Emergency Stop Switch
    By JakeSpeed in forum DIY
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-23-2019, 08:27
  4. Help! Stop the emails!!! (Apex won't stop sending OFF notices)
    By Erasmus in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-07-2018, 05:34
  5. Switch to stop over flow
    By throughstream in forum AquaBus Modules, Probes, and Breakout Boxes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-22-2015, 08:42

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •