Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: how to set up auto shut off on skimmer

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    New Providence, NJ
    Posts
    1

    how to set up auto shut off on skimmer

    I want to use a break out box with some sort of sensor so that if it starts overflowing it will auto shut off. what would be the code, and what is everyone using for sensors?

  2. #2
    Frequent Visitor Todd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    583
    Most direct solution would be to use a float switch in the collection cup or overflow container. Wire the switch to a BoB. Then in the skimmer outlet add:

    If Sw1 CLOSED Then OFF

    If you have other code in the skimmer outlet that might interfere/conflict, you might need to use a virtual outlet to isolate the switch code.

  3. #3
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    The previous post is correct however it can lead to problems. As soon as the float is not longer all the way up, it will turn back on then overflow, turn the float back up, then repeat the cycle over and over. If the float is properly positioned then this isn't always a problem, but I prefer to do it this way to be safe.

    Create a VO

    Overflow (VO)
    Set OFF
    If Switchname CLOSED Then ON
    When On > 000:05 Then ON
    Defer 000:10 Then ON
    Min Time 000:10 Then ON

    Equipment
    (Existing code)
    If Outlet Overflow = ON Then OFF

    Email
    (Existing code)
    If Outlet Overflow = ON Then ON

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  4. #4
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    US EST
    Posts
    219
    Zombie I'm trying to figure out what this VO code does. Can you provide line comments for the lines of code so I can see what each line does?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    What the VO does is when the overflow float closes for 10 seconds continuously it will turn the outlet ON and then the when statement changes the slider from AUTO to ON so that it latches. When that VO turns on it will email you and turn off whatever equipment you add that line too and keep it off until you fix the problem so the float is open again and then change the slider back to AUTO.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  6. #6
    Frequent Visitor rkpetersen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Near Seattle
    Posts
    940
    Nice code, zombie. My skimmer level sensor works fine with the simple code Todd described, but your VO is more versatile and dependable.

    OP, for sensors, an alternate to a standard float switch and BoB would be an optical sensor plugged into an FMM. Useful if you happen to have a Neptune ATK with an unused sensor input, for example.

  7. #7
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    US EST
    Posts
    219
    Thanks for the code explanations. I'm on my way to trying VOs.

  8. #8
    Frequent Visitor Todd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    583
    Quote Originally Posted by rkpetersen View Post
    ...an alternate to a standard float switch and BoB would be an optical sensor plugged into an FMM.
    I don't use optical sensors, but I'm curious how they would behave in skimmate. Wouldn't they build up a film and always indicate full?

  9. #9
    Frequent Visitor rkpetersen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Near Seattle
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by Todd View Post
    I don't use optical sensors, but I'm curious how they would behave in skimmate. Wouldn't they build up a film and always indicate full?
    Mine hasn't done so so far, but I give it a wipe whenever I remove and clean out the cup, which is weekly. Also, I skim on the wet side, so it isn't thick sludge that the sensor is submerged in. If it were installed somewhere difficult to access, or maintained less often, it could be an issue, but the worst that would happen is that you'd be notified, find that the container isn't actually full, clean the sensor, and carry on. I thought about using a standard float switch, but they're bigger and bulkier (don't really fit with my skimmer cup and lid so well), and they can also develop deposits and get stuck if not maintained properly.

  10. #10
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by Todd View Post
    I don't use optical sensors, but I'm curious how they would behave in skimmate. Wouldn't they build up a film and always indicate full?
    Probably. I wouldn't trust it. If I used opticals for skimmate it would be in an overflow bucket connected to the skimmer cup with a tube.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  11. #11
    Frequent Visitor rkpetersen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Near Seattle
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    I wouldn't trust it.
    Yeah well, that's another issue. I don't trust these optical sensors at any time, as you know. Or maybe it's more like the old Cold War expression - Trust, but verify.

  12. #12
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    110
    Hi Zombie,

    Can you please breakdown what each of the following does?

    Code:
    When On > 000:05 Then ON
    Defer 000:10 Then ON
    Min Time 000:10 Then ON

  13. #13
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by Fringe09 View Post
    Hi Zombie,

    Can you please breakdown what each of the following does?

    Code:
    When On > 000:05 Then ON
    Defer 000:10 Then ON
    Min Time 000:10 Then ON
    It waits 10 seconds to make sure the overflow is real and then the min time and when work in tandem to latch the state to manual ON.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    It waits 10 seconds to make sure the overflow is real and then the min time and when work in tandem to latch the state to manual ON.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
    Cool, thanks.

  15. #15
    New User
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Yellow Springs Ohio
    Posts
    11
    Why will this super simple code not up load without an error? I have a float switch in my skimmer lid connected to sw2. I have tried this
    Fallback off
    Set on
    If sw2 is closed then off
    If sw2 is open then on

    This fails to upload, I take out line 4 and it fails. I’m stupid with this stuff and don’t know what is wrong?
    Thanks
    Jeff

  16. #16
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    22,463
    Line 4 serves no purpose - do not use it. The Set On statement handles turning the outlet on whenever the switch input is not closed.

    What is the exact error message shown when you try to update the programming?
    Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  17. #17
    Frequent Contributor SuncrestReef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    3,105
    Quote Originally Posted by jjoos99 View Post
    Why will this super simple code not up load without an error? I have a float switch in my skimmer lid connected to sw2. I have tried this
    Fallback off
    Set on
    If sw2 is closed then off
    If sw2 is open then on

    This fails to upload, I take out line 4 and it fails. I’m stupid with this stuff and don’t know what is wrong?
    Thanks
    Jeff
    The error is caused because you included the word "is" when it's not needed, and as Russ mentioned, line 4 is not needed.

    Fallback OFF
    Set ON
    If sw2 CLOSED Then OFF

  18. #18
    New User
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Yellow Springs Ohio
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by SuncrestReef View Post
    The error is caused because you included the word "is" when it's not needed, and as Russ mentioned, line 4 is not needed.

    Fallback OFF
    Set ON
    If sw2 CLOSED Then OFF
    That did it. There sure is a learning curve to this. My Older brain just doesn’t grasp this that well
    Thanks
    Jeff

  19. #19
    New User
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    10
    Thank you for this! I wanted to set something up so in case my skimmer overflowed it would shutoff. I used an optical sensor (because of space) & so far it’s working great! Learned a bit how to use virtual outlets & they come in pretty handy! 😊

Similar Threads

  1. Question: PMUP v2 auto shut off
    By sg88 in forum DC24 Ports and Peripherals
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-21-2020, 15:28
  2. Question: Programming Skimmer Locker to shut off Skimmer
    By chadmroman in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-22-2019, 19:35
  3. Selenoid auto shut off
    By jgarcia in forum Fluid Monitoring Module (FMM), FMK, ATK, LDK, and FMM Accessories
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 04-10-2018, 15:40
  4. ATO Auto Shut off???
    By szl in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-12-2017, 16:49
  5. Help! Auto Feeder, how to program auto feed/ pump shut off ?
    By Bambam507 in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-09-2015, 16:46

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •