Thread: Chiller Usage with Apex Regarding Programming and Amperage Draw

New User

Chiller Usage with Apex Regarding Programming and Amperage Draw

QUESTION 1)
    Would someone be so kind as to answer the following:
    Background:
    Equipment Apex 2016, JBJ Arctica Titanium 1/5 HP Chiller (DBA-150), New

Desire:
    Control via the Apex using its Temp Probe to run the Chiller not the Chiller Thermostat, IN ADDITION TO, having the Chiller run for a few minutes a couple times per day just to keep the water moving throughout the Chiller, REGARDLESS if Temp needs to be lowered

To Date Actions:
    I have run the task command with the following outcome:

Fallback OFF
    If Tmp > 78.0 Then ON
    If Tmp < 77.8 Then OFF

I realize this is remedial but the risk of me having the chiller run without total control is scary. I am new to the sport and have screwed up some simple things and my confidence is lacking, frankly.I have read Chapter 5, page 55 in the programming manual but want to ensure I do not screw this one up. Concern is much greater now that I have fish in this FOWLR set up

Would someone please give me recommendation as to the correct timing program to make this happen and any extra info to add?

2) Amp Draw- I am pulling 505 watts when this thing comes on, Am I Ok in any outlet of my EB832?

Thank your for your support and verification!

Is this for a subtropical species tank? A setpoint that low is extremely unusual for tropical reef tanks, which can thrive well into the low to mid 80s. Most sucessful reef tanks I have seen that use a chiller are set more in the 81-84 area for their setpoints.

That chiller should only draw 5A so it is safe for the EB832 (all outlets in the EB832 are 7A).

This would force the chiller ON for 2 minutes twice a day even if not called for.

Fallback OFF
    If Tmp > 78.0 Then ON
    If Tmp < 77.8 Then OFF
    If Time 00:00 to 00:01 Then ON
    If Time 12:00 to 12:01 Then ON