Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27

Thread: Apex feeder, turning wavemakers off??????

  1. #1
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16

    Apex feeder, turning wavemakers off??????

    I currently have the apex feeder coming on at 8:30am feeding the tank. I want to add lines of code to shutoff my three power heads that are set to just be on all the time but come back on if the system looses power and comes back on due to them each having their own wavemaker controllers. What I want is the powerheads to shutoff when the feeder feeds and come back on after 2 minutes, and the return to stay on to push some of the food to the other side of the tank.
    Also this is my first time I have ever programed a apex.


    OSC 000:00/000:30/000:30 Then ON
    If Time 00:00 to 08:30 Then OFF
    If Time 08:32 to 00:00 Then OFF
    If FeedA 000 Then ON

  2. #2
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    Each of the three wavemakers is setup with this code currently

    Fallback ON
    Set ON

  3. #3
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    You need to create a virtual outlet (there are stickies and instructions in the manual if you don't know what those are). That virtual outlet should have the following code. This example shuts the pumps off for 5 minute and waits 1 minute for water to settle out before running the feeder. It will also do the same thing on demand when you initiate FeedA.

    vFeed
    Set OFF
    If Time 08:00 to 08:04 Then ON
    If FeedA 000 Then ON

    AFS
    Set OFF
    If Output vFeed = ON Then ON
    Defer 001:00 Then ON

    Anything you want off during feed.
    (Existing code)
    If Output vFeed = ON Then OFF


    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  4. #4
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    So if I am understanding correctly to have the three EB8 outlets switch off for 2min when the feeder comes on, I need to create a virtual outlet?

  5. #5
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by edsonreefer View Post
    So if I am understanding correctly to have the three EB8 outlets switch off for 2min when the feeder comes on, I need to create a virtual outlet?
    Yes. Just like I show above but if you only want them off for 2 minutes then change 08:04 to 08:02. That will turn them off for 1 minute, rotate the AFS once, then stay off for 2 minutes after the food drops, then resume normal schedule.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  6. #6
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    If I add: If FeedA 000 Then off to the following code for each of the powerheads what would happen?:

    Fallback ON
    Set ON

  7. #7
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by edsonreefer View Post
    If I add: If FeedA 000 Then off to the following code for each of the powerheads what would happen?:

    Fallback ON
    Set ON
    It would turn them off when FeedA is initiated until the timer expires. However, if you want the AFS to rotate when you use that timer, it is already baked into vFeed and would be redundant and unnecessary.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  8. #8
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    Ok figured out how to and created a virtual outlet, I then added the following code that was provided in this post,

    vFeed
    Set OFF
    If Time 08:00 to 08:04 Then ON
    If FeedA 000 Then ON

    AFS
    Set OFF
    If Output vFeed = ON Then ON
    Defer 001:00 Then ON

    Anything you want off during feed.
    (Existing code)
    If Output vFeed = ON Then OFF

    Ok for the following section of code:
    Anything you want off during feed.
    (Existing code)
    If Output vFeed = ON Then OFF
    Do I replace:,
    Anything you want off during feed.
    (Existing code)
    with what their labeled as, such as the one powerhead is labeled as CP-40 and do I also have to switch the powerheads I add to auto to make it work?

  9. #9
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    That was simply indicating that on any outlet that you want OFF, but the vFeed line below any existing programming.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  10. #10
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    Ok hopefully my understanding of this is correct, will this work for turning as a example the CP-40 power head off during feedA

    vFeed
    Set OFF
    If Time 08:00 to 08:04 Then ON
    If FeedA 000 Then ON

    AFS
    Set OFF
    If Output vFeed = ON Then ON
    Defer 001:00 Then ON

    [CP-40]
    Fallback ON
    Set ON

    If Output vFeed = ON Then OFF

  11. #11
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Correct

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  12. #12
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    Also do I have to change the following:
    If Time 08:00 to 08:04 Then ON
    to
    If Time 09:00 to 09:04 Then ON
    since I changed my feed time to 09:00
    Also the last thing, with this programing do I have to put each of the powerheads to auto from on to make them work with the programing?

  13. #13
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    Ok here is what I put for all three power heads and I kept the 1 min shutdown also added the change in time:

    vFeed
    Set OFF
    If Time 09:00 to 09:04 Then ON
    If FeedA 000 Then ON
    AFS
    Set OFF
    If Output vFeed = ON Then ON
    Defer 001:00 Then ON
    [CP-40]
    Fallback ON
    Set ON
    [SPOWERHEAD2]
    Fallback ON
    Set ON
    [SPOWERHEAD]
    Fallback ON
    Set ON
    If Output vFeed = ON Then OFF

    and if I want to add a second feeding at 15:00, I would add:

    vFeed
    Set OFF

    If Time 15:00 to 15:04 Then ON

    If FeedA 000 Then ON
    under the first looking like this:


    vFeed
    Set OFF
    If Time 09:00 to 09:04 Then ON
    If FeedA 000 Then ON
    AFS
    Set OFF
    vFeed
    Set OFF
    If Time 15:00 to 15:04 Then ON
    If FeedA 000 Then ON

    AFS
    Set OFF

    If Output vFeed = ON Then ON
    Defer 001:00 Then ON
    [CP-40]
    Fallback ON
    Set ON
    [SPOWERHEAD2]
    Fallback ON
    Set ON
    [SPOWERHEAD]
    Fallback ON
    Set ON
    If Output vFeed = ON Then OFF

  14. #14
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    No. Just add the extra if time statement under the if time statement in vFeed

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  15. #15
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    It says first line error but I think it because I added another feeding

    OSC 000:00/000:30/000:30 Then ON
    If Time 00:00 to 09:00 Then OFF
    If Time 09:03 to 15:00 Then OFF
    If Time 15:03 to 00:00 Then OFF
    If FeedA 000 Then ON

  16. #16
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    error.jpg
    This is the error I got

  17. #17
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    error2.jpg
    This is what the programming looks like on my screen

  18. #18
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by edsonreefer View Post
    error2.jpg
    This is what the programming looks like on my screen
    Just the part directly under vFeed and above AFS goes into that virtual outlet. The rest goes into the outlet it is labeled for AFS is the actual feeder program, CP40 goes into the wavemaker outlet, etc.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  19. #19
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    OH, ok that makes more sense, I thought all the code went into the virtual outlet. Thank You.

  20. #20
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    For the AFS do I have to much programming as its giving me a similar error but for line 6



    OSC 000:00/000:30/000:30 Then ON
    If Time 00:00 to 09:00 Then OFF
    If Time 09:03 to 15:00 Then OFF
    If Time 15:03 to 00:00 Then OFF
    If FeedA 000 Then ON
    AFS
    Set OFF
    If Output vFeed = ON Then ON
    Defer 001:00 Then ON

    Also is this good for each powerhead
    [CP-40]
    If Output vFeed = ON Then OFF
    Fallback ON
    Set ON

  21. #21
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    The AFS is just this

    Set OFF
    If Output vFeed = ON Then ON
    Defer 001:00 Then ON



    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  22. #22
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    error3.jpg
    This is the error

    - - - Updated - - -

    error4.jpg

  23. #23
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Delete the first 4 lines. They are not needed. And just use what I show in post 21.

    Make sure vFeed matches exactly including upper/lower case. If it does, it's possible you are far enough out of date on firmware that you actually need to use the word Outlet instead of Output.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  24. #24
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Edson,Alberta,Canada
    Posts
    16
    error5.jpg
    This is what I have and I still get the same error. Also tried changing Output to Outlet and the word Outlet turned red.

  25. #25
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by edsonreefer View Post
    error5.jpg
    This is what I have and I still get the same error. Also tried changing Output to Outlet and the word Outlet turned red.
    You need to rename that virtual outlet you coded earlier to be named vFeed. I looked at some of your previous screenshots and you named that one Outlet. That can cause all sorts of problems and bugs if you use a reserved system keyword at the start of an outlet name.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Turning off pumps when auto feeder turns on
    By porifera23 in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-03-2020, 11:23
  2. Need Help: Turning Off and On Wavemakers based on Return Pump
    By johnny9r in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-26-2018, 10:36
  3. New Apex owner's experience generating a standing wave with Jebao wavemakers and VDM
    By JaySmith in forum Apex Programming for Vortech, Tunze, & Other Controllable Pumps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-25-2018, 09:47
  4. Help! Feeder A not turning of return pump
    By davidewen in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-01-2016, 00:25
  5. Turning my skimmer on on apex fusion is turning my TV off lol
    By throughstream in forum EnergyBars 832 / 632 / 8 / 6 / 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-19-2015, 13:56

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •