Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How to get an outlet to default off after Virtual outlet triggered

  1. #1
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    20

    How to get an outlet to default off after Virtual outlet triggered

    Im looking to add a failsafe to my ATO. I am setting up an awc system and want to prevent the ATO from taking over if the New Salt water pump fails to deliver the new water. The ATO turns on 4x a day for 5 minutes. Sw1 is the normal operating level float switch and it is open when the water is at the correct height. The water change system turns on a pump, connected to a drain, immediately after the ATO’s 5 minutes are up. It runs until a low water float switch is triggered. Then the new salt water pump runs until the sump returns to Sw1’s normal operating position. I want to turn off the ATO and send an alarm if the low water float switch is engaged, or if the normal operating switch is not in the correct position after the NSW pump had a chance to fill the tank. This is all controlled by time and float switches so basically if the float switches aren’t where they are supposed to be after the time the NSW pump had to run, then I want the an alarm sent and the ATO off until I manually reset it.

    Is there a way to get the ATO outlet to default to off and require manual override to turn back on if a virtual outlet is triggered on?

  2. #2
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    22,463
    Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  3. #3
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    20
    I always forget about when.

    So

    When output virtualoutlet on then off


    Would that do the trick?

    Sent from my SM-G928V using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by Biglurr54 View Post
    I always forget about when.

    So

    When output virtualoutlet on then off


    Would that do the trick?

    Sent from my SM-G928V using Tapatalk
    No that is invalid syntax. Please post the virtual outlet code and I can show you how to incorporate it.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  5. #5
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    20
    I am not sure this is right but here is my virtual outlet.
    AWCVIRTUALST
    Fallback OFF
    If Time 00:21 to 00:22 Then ON
    If Time 12:21 to 12:22 Then ON
    If Sw1 OPEN Then OFF

    My plan was to have the virtual outlet turn on immediately after the AWC had completed it cycle which is 00:21 and 12:21 every day. If Sw1 is open then the water is at the correct height and nothing should be done. If Sw1 is closed then we have an issue with the AWC refill and the ATO needs to be shut down until the issue is resolved and a notification should be sent to me to alert me that we have an issue!

  6. #6
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Slight error in your existing VO.
    AWCVIRTUALST
    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If Time 00:21 to 00:22 Then ON
    If Time 12:21 to 12:22 Then ON
    If Sw1 OPEN Then OFF

    The sw1 being closed needs to be a seperate VO with a when statement like this

    ATOproblem
    Set OFF
    If Sw1 CLOSED Then ON
    Defer 000:10 Then ON
    When On > 000:02 Then ON


    For email add

    If Error ATOproblem Then ON
    Or
    If Output ATOproblem = ON Then ON


    For ATO add

    If Output ATOproblem = ON Then OFF




    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  7. #7
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    20
    My concern with the ATOproblem code is that it will send an alert and turn off the ATo every time Sw1 calls for the ATO. Remember my ATO only turns on for 5 minutes every 6 hours so if Sw1 calls for water during the 6 hours of off time it would trigger ATOproblem and turn the whole thing off.

    I want the virtual outlet to check the level of Sw1 at 00:21 and 12:21. If Sw1 is closed at those times, i want it to default the ATO to off and send me a notiication. How does this look?

    Virtual Outlet
    ATOproblem
    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If Time 00:21 to 00:22 Then ON
    If Time 12:21 to 12:22 Then ON
    If Sw1 OPEN Then OFF

    ATO Outlet

    If Output ATOproblem = ON Then OFF

    For Email
    If Output ATOproblem = ON then ON

    My Concerns with this set up is that the ATOproblem will turn off after its 1 minute time even if there is a problem with the "set off" code. If the Set off code was removed, wouldn't the ATOproblem stick with what ever the last true statement was?

  8. #8
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Looks like I didn't read your description right the first pass through. You want this

    AWCproblem
    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If Time 00:21 to 00:22 Then ON
    If Time 12:21 to 12:22 Then ON
    If Sw1 OPEN Then OFF
    When On > 000:10 Then ON

    Email add
    If Error AWCproblem Then ON

    For ATO add
    If Error AWCproblem Then OFF

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  9. #9
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    20
    Perfect. That looks like it should do the trick! Thank you so much.

    Sent from my SM-G928V using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. virtual outlet
    By jelly in forum EnergyBars 832 / 632 / 8 / 6 / 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-13-2017, 18:32
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2017, 18:41
  3. Outlet is grey in programming in virtual outlet
    By NepNoob in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-20-2017, 22:59
  4. Can a Virtual Outlet be used to control other Virtual Outlet(s)?
    By tige21v in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-16-2017, 09:15
  5. Possible to program Vortech virtual outlet to default outlet?
    By iCraigerz in forum Apex Programming for Vortech, Tunze, & Other Controllable Pumps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-01-2014, 02:19

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •