Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Begining Question

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    5

    Begining Question

    I am new to the Apex world. I really like what I see so far.
    I wonder if I could set up a way to turn off the skimmer and a return pump with a single virtual outlet?
    When the tank is cleaned, I want these items all off, then when done cleaning, turn them all on.
    For the skimmer, when I open the output configuration, it says
    Device 2_5
    Location Outlet 5 on the EB832 named EB832_2 at Aquabus address 2.
    Name Skimmer_2_5

    For the return pump similar expect on outlet 6.

    Any ideas are appreciated!

  2. #2
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    389
    I have done similar ...

    VO Called vMaint (the vMaintBut is my physical button to activate the VO connected to the BoB)
    Set OFF
    If vMaintBut CLOSED Then ON --> if you don't have a BoB with a switch attached you don't need this line
    Defer 030:00 Then OFF --> you can specify the time for maintnance window you want

    Return Pump Outlet
    Fallback ON
    Set ON
    If H2O-Lo CLOSED Then OFF
    If Output vMaint = ON Then OFF
    Defer 003:00 Then ON --> after resetting the VO it will allow 3m before the return pump actually kicks. I use this because of the level switch (H2O-Lo) to avoid false readings

    Skimmer Outlet
    Fallback OFF
    Set ON
    If H2O-Hi CLOSED Then OFF
    If H2O-Lo CLOSED Then OFF
    If Output RETURN = OFF Then OFF
    If Output vFeed = ON Then OFF
    Defer 005:00 Then ON

    With this ... when the return pump comes back ... you actually wait 5m before the skimmer starts so not to overflow

    Hope this helps
    Rui

  3. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    5
    Rui, thanks - interesting!
    I'll digest your code.
    For now, can you explain the "physical button to activate the VO connected to the BoB"?
    Is this just a big button on the Apex page, or is it a physical switch say on the outside of the aquarium stand?

  4. #4
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    389
    For me is a switch (physical) that I have plugged to the Break Out Box (BoB) in APEX

    Once I press that switch for 1s it turn my Virtual Outlet ON

    It's easier for me to use that instead of going to Fusion to move the slider.

  5. #5
    New User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    5
    Ahh Ha! Thanks Rui. I see what you are saying. This is perfect because I am trying to set something up easy for a maintenance person to operate.
    I really appreciate your responses. Cheers

  6. #6
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Cincinnati, ohio
    Posts
    709
    I'd look into the feed buttons, they are frequently used for maintenance items.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •