Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Programming Alarm Actions and VO's

  1. #1
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    230

    Programming Alarm Actions and VO's

    So now that I am re-programming my system from scratch that was running for 8 years I have been forgetting how I did things. Also things may have changed or some of you all had better ways of doing things.

    In the past I had VO's to reset alarms and the actions they triggered. Basically I wanted to make sure not only where alarms and their actions bouncing, but that I corrected the action before things went back to normal.

    For instance is there is an leak, then the leak alarm triggers an email and shuts off the return.Since for me I have seen more leaks when things overflow, (skimmer collection tanks, display because something clogged, or ATO went nuts and started filling things too much. "SND ALARM" , "EMAIL" and the outlet I wanted to control would all have lines referencing the float siwtch or leak sensor. This seems a bit redundant.

    If I remember correctly in the alarm and in the outlet (skimmer, return, etc) I removed the "set" command and added a line for the VO stating something like 'If outlet reset on then off" to keep the state active until I hit a VO called "reset"


    I hope this makes sense. I cant seem to load my old program into my spare apex so I am guessing the firmware is different. I upgraded them both when I tore down the system.

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    That logic has been superseded by the when command.

    When On > X Then ON


    Is the syntax and there is a sticky on here with more detail.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  3. #3
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    230
    thanks as always. ill sort through the stickies and see what I find...

  4. #4
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    230
    OK found it but I am missing something. Like I said I can not remember how I programmed it.

    Skimmer:

    Fallback on
    Set ???
    If Leak Closed then OFF
    Is SUMP_HI Then Off
    If SKM_HI Then Off
    If Maintenance on then off (VO also turns off return)


    Where does the "When Command fit into this"

  5. #5
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    22,464
    If you initialized the Apex and relinked it to Fusion, and you have not yet deleted the “old” Apex from Fusion, you can use the Summary report to see your prior programming.
    Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  6. #6
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by MHG View Post
    OK found it but I am missing something. Like I said I can not remember how I programmed it.

    Skimmer:

    Fallback on
    Set ???
    If Leak Closed then OFF
    Is SUMP_HI Then Off
    If SKM_HI Then Off
    If Maintenance on then off (VO also turns off return)


    Where does the "When Command fit into this"
    You still need to seperate out the "lockout" conditions into a virtual outlet, but you can use the when command instead of using no Set OFF and a seperate reset outlet.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  7. #7
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    230
    old one was deleted....I have all the old config files but did not name them by what revision it was last running.




    So this is what I am thinking

    Skimmer:

    Fallback on
    If Leak Closed then OFF
    Is SUMP_HI Then Off
    If SKM_HI Then Off
    If Maintenance on then off (VO also turns off return)
    If Reset on then on


    Reset: (VO)

    Fallback off
    set off


    Sorry again. but I dont see where the "when" command applies... If it senses a leak it should lock it out until I reset it.

  8. #8
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Like this

    Skimmer:

    Fallback on
    Set ON
    If Power Apex OFF 001 Then OFF
    Is SUMP_HI Then Off
    If SKM_HI Then Off
    If Maintenance on then off (VO also turns off return)
    If Output SumpLeak = ON Then OFF
    Defer 005:00 Then ON

    SumpLeak
    Set OFF
    If Leak Closed then ON
    When On > 000:02 Then ON


    This locks out and latches on SumpLeak when a leak is detected.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  9. #9
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    Like this

    Skimmer:

    Fallback on
    Set ON
    If Power Apex OFF 001 Then OFF
    Is SUMP_HI Then Off
    If SKM_HI Then Off
    If Maintenance on then off (VO also turns off return)
    If Output SumpLeak = ON Then OFF
    Defer 005:00 Then ON

    SumpLeak
    Set OFF
    If Leak Closed then ON
    When On > 000:02 Then ON


    This locks out and latches on SumpLeak when a leak is detected.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.
    OK so your using a virtual outlet for the leak not just a switch. Makes sense. But to reset everything I just swing the "sumpleak" to off then back to auto?

  10. #10
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by MHG View Post
    OK so your using a virtual outlet for the leak not just a switch. Makes sense. But to reset everything I just swing the "sumpleak" to off then back to auto?
    Just back to AUTO.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  11. #11
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    230
    Thanksforthehelp

  12. #12
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    230
    so what is the "defer command for? when I reset the lead virtual outlet I want my pump to come back on. It does not until after 5 minutes

  13. #13
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by MHG View Post
    so what is the "defer command for? when I reset the lead virtual outlet I want my pump to come back on. It does not until after 5 minutes
    It's there to give time for water level to stabilize so it doesn't overflow all the nasty skimmer gunk into your tank.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  14. #14
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    230
    Historically any time I have had water on the floor it was because something overflowed. For me the purpose of having a vo to manually reset things is because I want to be on site to verify that things are ok and correct any issues. When I tell it everything is ok, I won't be needing to wait another 5 minutes.

    Do I replace it with anything or just delete it?

  15. #15
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by MHG View Post
    Historically any time I have had water on the floor it was because something overflowed. For me the purpose of having a vo to manually reset things is because I want to be on site to verify that things are ok and correct any issues. When I tell it everything is ok, I won't be needing to wait another 5 minutes.

    Do I replace it with anything or just delete it?
    The defer isn't there for the leak, it's there for when your return shuts off, which causes water level to rise. I would leave it there.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

Similar Threads

  1. tie actions to watts
    By risk1994 in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-14-2022, 09:12
  2. Question: Alert Actions
    By MikeO5422 in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-20-2018, 04:59
  3. Can Wave and Tunze's be synced for inverse actions?
    By bobafet1 in forum WAV Powerheads
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-23-2017, 21:58
  4. Question: Current/Power Monitoring Actions
    By yaminator in forum A2 Apex/ApexEL and A3 Apex Pro/Apex/Apex Jr
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2016, 07:02
  5. Logging Programmed Actions
    By SMC5910 in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2016, 16:49

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •