Thread: Auto Feeder Programming

Regular Vistor

Auto Feeder Programming

I went through the typical setup of my new AFS with my Apex 2016. I, like many running an Apex, want the full monty with skimmer and return pump being turned off and restart delayed when the feeder runs its cycle.

I saw the bit about virtual outlets, and then sample programming for setting up one feed a day with one drum rotation, accompanied by skimmer and return being turned off and then restarted after a set delay.

I'm new to the Apex programming syntax and methodology. I used the sample programming in the operating manual, and the Apex didn't like it. I've created a virtual outlet, and like I saw illustrated, named it v_feed. From that point, what do I need to key in that will achieve my objective of fed fish with no uneaten food winding up in the sump?

Thanks in advance!

We can't be of assistance if you aren't clear exactly what you want to happen, what you tried, and what your current programming is for all outlets involved. I could give an example, but it wouldn't be any different than what I have posted on the examples you have probably already seen.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Regular Vistor
    Okay, being new to the whole automation gig with reef keeping, I'll detail what I can...

The objective is for feeder_7_1 to provide one daily feeding at 1400 with one drum revolution. I want the skimmer and return pump (outlet #'s 5 and 6, respectively) on the EB832 to be turned off a minute prior to food being dispensed, and then the pump to be turned on 10 minutes after food is dispensed, and the skimmer to be turned on 5 minutes following the pump. The example Neptune gives in the setup manual details this, but first mentions that a virtual outlet has to be "made." I did that, and named it "v-feed." I copied and pasted the code given in the example:

[v-feed]
    Set OFF
    If Time 12:00 To 12:01 Then ON

[skimmer]
    Set ON
    If Outlet v-feed = ON Then OFF