Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Program COR to adjust based on flow meter?

  1. #1
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    seattle
    Posts
    60

    Program COR to adjust based on flow meter?

    Still very new to reef tanks and the APEX. I have 2 COR 20 pumps, one for the return and one that feeds my UV sterilizer. I have the COR on the UV to feed about 210 gph. I am still trying to balance the return COR with my overflows and have it running at about 650 gph per the flow meters. I think I need to either increase it a little and open the siphon drains a little more, or slow it down and close the siphon a little more.

    I am hoping to program the return in a manner that I can manipulate the power by the flow meter. For example, rather than trying to adjust the pump a 1% or 2% and waiting to see what the flow rate goes to. I would rather adjust code to make it adjust the power if I set the limit at 600 gph or 700 gph and let the pump adjust itself until I find the right GPH for the return and my siphon drains. Is this possible?

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    You wont be able to let the programming find the right percentages for you, but you can program it to autocorrect (with steady state error) to reduce the effect of debris buildup or opening/closing valves on your manifold.

    Heres an example. Let's say your target flow rate is 650 and under normal circumstances that takes 60 percent to achieve. Let's also say that you need to increase the percentage to 70% to achieve that flow rate with all manifold valves wide open and 50% with all manifold valves fully closed (flow sensor must be after all manifold valves and measuring flow into tank). You are willing to accept an error of up to +-20 gph from your target. The code would be.

    Set 50
    If Flow < 660 Then 55
    If Flow < 650 Then 60
    If Flow < 640 Then 65
    If Flow < 630 Then 70
    (Any overrides like feed statements etc)

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Setting Apex with Cor 20 do auto adjust for water level.
    By sertan in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-13-2020, 11:02
  2. Neptune Flow Meter and the COR 15
    By Ebslinger in forum Pre-Sales Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-11-2019, 15:40
  3. Can a flow meter with the FMM be used to program by volume
    By whotzler in forum Fluid Monitoring Module (FMM), FMK, ATK, LDK, and FMM Accessories
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-29-2019, 13:09
  4. Question: Programming so one pump shuts off if another pump flow meter shows that flow has stopped
    By reeferandy in forum A2 Apex/ApexEL and A3 Apex Pro/Apex/Apex Jr
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-23-2017, 09:40
  5. Flow Meter
    By JustinGR in forum Misc Aquarium Automation Discussions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-05-2013, 06:17

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •