Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Tank Maint. programming...

  1. #1
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    112

    Tank Maint. programming...

    I'm looking to create a tank maint. program that shuts down pretty much all components when activated via a momentary push button on a breakout box input.

    What do you guy's feel is the best way of going about this?

    Can I use the same momentary button to also then trigger everything to come back on? or am I better off using another input to activate everything back on?

    anyone have any example code of what I should add to each device that I want to turn off?

    also is it possible to have alarms not respond when everything is powered down... for example my High limit sump switch activates etc.

    again I really appreciate the help.

  2. #2
    Aquaphile
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    70
    If you search on
    Maintenance and
    Maintenance without alarm
    you should be able to get some help like I received in the past with similar questions.

  3. #3
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Use a toggle. Momentary switches make things too complicated.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    114
    I have recently setup this exact thing and it works great!

    I plan on putting a rocker switch in, but currently just use the Virtual Outlet and turn it on manually.

    Here is what I have setup:

    Create Maintenance VO with the code:

    Set OFF
    If MAINT CLOSED Then ON
    Defer 000:02 Then ON


    In any of the outputs I want off, add this line to the existing code (return pump):

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF

    In any of the outputs I want on, add this line to existing code (Fuge light):

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then ON

    I have Radions, so I have set up a profile to set these to a nice light for working

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then Daylight

    I have also got my alarms and notifications on Virtual Outlets so I can manually disable them and not get alerts if I have assessed the issue and there is no issue, or just waiting on returning to normal and I have this in them to disable notifications when maintenance is on:

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF

    I have also got a reminder notification setup incase I forget to turn everything back on:

    On its own VO, I have the following code:

    Set OFF
    If Output Maintenance = ON Then ON
    Defer 030:00 Then ON

    And then this is in my Alert notifications Output:

    If Output MaintRemind = ON Then ON

  5. #5
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    112
    excellent idea... thank you

  6. #6
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    Use a toggle. Momentary switches make things too complicated.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
    great idea for the toggle switches instead of momentary!!

  7. #7
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    112
    if i wanted to stagger certain devices from coming on would I simply add defer times to each outlet ?

    for example.

    I have 4 closed loop pumps for flow in the tank.

    I like them to come on 1 at a time so I can verify they all start back up.

    so for pump 1:

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF
    Defer 000:02 Then ON

    for pump 2:
    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF
    Defer 000:04 Then ON

    for pump 3:

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF
    Defer 000:06 Then ON

    for pump 4 :

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF
    Defer 000:08 Then ON


  8. #8
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    You can, but note that these defers will apply to all other programming they have as well.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    112
    is there a way to keep it specific to a virtual outlet or not easily

  10. #10
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by isomorphic85 View Post
    is there a way to keep it specific to a virtual outlet or not easily
    You would need to make a separate virtual outlet for anything you want an extra defer for that isnt global to the rest of that outlets programming. It's not really hard, just tedious and easy to make a mistake.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    You would need to make a separate virtual outlet for anything you want an extra defer for that isnt global to the rest of that outlets programming. It's not really hard, just tedious and easy to make a mistake.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

    Thank you again, all of your help really is greatly appreciated!

  12. #12
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by DavidNZ View Post
    I have recently setup this exact thing and it works great!

    I plan on putting a rocker switch in, but currently just use the Virtual Outlet and turn it on manually.

    Here is what I have setup:

    Create Maintenance VO with the code:

    Set OFF
    If MAINT CLOSED Then ON
    Defer 000:02 Then ON


    In any of the outputs I want off, add this line to the existing code (return pump):

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF

    In any of the outputs I want on, add this line to existing code (Fuge light):

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then ON

    I have Radions, so I have set up a profile to set these to a nice light for working

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then Daylight

    I have also got my alarms and notifications on Virtual Outlets so I can manually disable them and not get alerts if I have assessed the issue and there is no issue, or just waiting on returning to normal and I have this in them to disable notifications when maintenance is on:

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF

    I have also got a reminder notification setup incase I forget to turn everything back on:

    On its own VO, I have the following code:

    Set OFF
    If Output Maintenance = ON Then ON
    Defer 030:00 Then ON

    And then this is in my Alert notifications Output:

    If Output MaintRemind = ON Then ON
    i've got everything working with the exception of the alarms and notifications on virtual outlets...

    i'm unclear as to how you set this portion up for the alarms?

  13. #13
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    See post #4
    Quote Originally Posted by isomorphic85 View Post
    i've got everything working with the exception of the alarms and notifications on virtual outlets...

    i'm unclear as to how you set this portion up for the alarms?
    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Hampton, NY
    Posts
    112
    I went through post #4 several times and i've having a mental blockage here.

    I can't seem to put together how you would create a virtual outlet for the alarms portion?

    or is he just adding the statement to the coding of the alarms

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF

  15. #15
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by isomorphic85 View Post
    I went through post #4 several times and i've having a mental blockage here.

    I can't seem to put together how you would create a virtual outlet for the alarms portion?

    or is he just adding the statement to the coding of the alarms

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF
    It's another VO

    MaintRemind
    Set OFF
    If Output Maintenance = ON Then ON
    Defer 030:00 Then ON

    Email
    (Existing code)
    If Output MaintRemind = ON Then ON

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  16. #16
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    114
    Quote Originally Posted by isomorphic85 View Post
    I went through post #4 several times and i've having a mental blockage here.

    I can't seem to put together how you would create a virtual outlet for the alarms portion?

    or is he just adding the statement to the coding of the alarms

    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF
    Is it the Maintenance reminder alert, or the parameter alerts that you don't understand?

    If it is the Maintenance one, then Zombie is right. If it is the other parameters, I have a Virtual Outlet for the parameter, EG SUMPHIGH (High SUMP water level) or PHHIGH (High PH) and just put If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF at the end. For example, this is my SUMPHIGH programming which will not notify me for 15 mins when it goes high (to avoid alerts in feed mode) but not run if the maintenance program is active:

    Set OFF
    If SUMPHI CLOSED Then ON
    Defer 015:00 Then ON
    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF

  17. #17
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by DavidNZ View Post
    Is it the Maintenance reminder alert, or the parameter alerts that you don't understand?

    If it is the Maintenance one, then Zombie is right. If it is the other parameters, I have a Virtual Outlet for the parameter, EG SUMPHIGH (High SUMP water level) or PHHIGH (High PH) and just put If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF at the end. For example, this is my SUMPHIGH programming which will not notify me for 15 mins when it goes high (to avoid alerts in feed mode) but not run if the maintenance program is active:

    Set OFF
    If SUMPHI CLOSED Then ON
    Defer 015:00 Then ON
    If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF
    There is an even easier way. This covers all your bases and let's you reduce the defer time as well.

    Set OFF
    If SUMPHI CLOSED Then ON
    If Output Return = OFF Then OFF
    Defer 005:00 Then ON

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Review My Program Programming Help Please...Return turns on full during FEED Mode (Maint) intermittently
    By chadmroman in forum A2 Apex/ApexEL and A3 Apex Pro/Apex/Apex Jr
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2019, 10:23
  2. Maint mode code suggestions
    By mlewandowski61 in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-30-2016, 09:54
  3. Maint mode code suggestions
    By mlewandowski61 in forum APEX Fusion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-30-2016, 02:32
  4. Maint mode code suggestions
    By mlewandowski61 in forum Misc Aquarium Automation Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-30-2016, 02:32

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •