Thread: Trouble Dimming LED with Mean Well Driver and VDM

Regular Vistor

Trouble Dimming LED with Mean Well Driver and VDM

I'm new to the VDM and dimming LEDs so I would like to lay out everything I've done and see if anyone can please tell me what the problem is.

I have an LED pendent that was sold as Apex Ready. It has a Mean Well HLG-120H-36B driver. That driver was three cords: 1 is the power cord, 1 connects to the LED pendant, and one has an RJ45 jack for connecting to the VDM module.

If I plug the light in without connecting the RJ45 to the VDM the light turns on at 100% intensity. If I plug the RJ45 into the VDM the intensity of the light appears to be about 10% of max.

I had initially intended to create three profiles: Sunrise, High noon, Sunset. But, since I ran into this issue with me not being able to control the light via the VDM I decided to first just get it the light to output 100% intensity when the RJ45 from the driver is connected to the VDM.

I am plugging the RJ45 from the driver into the V1/V2 port of the VDM. I have attached images of my driver, VDM, and screenshots of my programming.

Please let me know if you have any solutions to this. Thank you.
    Attached Images Attached Images

You’ll need to provide a good clear description or diagram with wire colors of how the dimming cable is wired to the driver and the RJ45 male. Pics would be a good alternative.
    Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

Regular Vistor
    Thanks a lot Russ. I attached a photo of the RJ45 male plug. Do I need to open the driver? I'm to new to this stuff.

Yes. We need to see everything. It already doesnt look right because the green/white wire is crimped to an unused pin.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Regular Vistor