Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Is this possible to do for water storage

  1. #1
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Posts
    125

    Is this possible to do for water storage

    Hi, my apologies as I am still fairly new to programming and such. I am not sure this is possible to do-

    I have a 55 gallon water storage container for RO/DI water. I would like to use to two optical level sensors, one at the bottom and the other at the top fill level.

    When the water is used up to the point that the low level sensor is exposed to air, I would like it to open a solenoid valve for 1 minute to dump TDS creep water, then close it and open a second solenoid valve to fill the container. Once the top fill sensor is submerged, I want the solenoid valve closed.

    Is this even possible? I can't get my head around how the upper one will not mess things up as I use water and it gets exposed.

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    StartFill
    If Low OPEN Then ON
    If High CLOSED Then OFF

    Dump Solenoid
    Set OFF
    If Output StartFill = ON Then ON
    If Output RODI = ON Then OFF

    RODI
    Set OFF
    If Output StartFill = ON Then ON
    Defer 001:00 Then ON

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Posts
    125
    Wow! You guys are awesome. Thank you so much!

  4. #4
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Posts
    125
    so....I'm still a bit dense, I can't figure out where do I enter these commands. Do you create virtual outlets for each? Sorry, this is all still to new for me.

  5. #5
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    StartFill is a virtual outlet. Dump Solenoid is the code that goes in the flushing solenoid. RODI is the solenoid that feeds your storage tank.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Posts
    125
    Ah Got it, took me a bit to realize the A and B were the solenoids in the tiles. Thanks again really appreciate your patience.

  7. #7
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Posts
    125
    Hi again, the above has worked flawlessly- thank you again!

    One question, I would like to add another solenoid to auto back flush my RO membrane. I added a new solenoid called FlushSolenoid. Will this programming work?

    StartFill
    If Low OPEN Then ON
    If High CLOSED Then OFF

    FLushSolenoid
    Set Off
    If Output StartFill=ON Then ON
    If Output RODI= ON Then OFF

    Dump Solenoid
    Set OFF
    If Output StartFill = ON Then ON
    Defer 001:00 Then ON
    If Output RODI = ON Then OFF

    RODI
    Set OFF
    If Output StartFill = ON Then ON
    Defer 002:00 Then ON

    So I want the RO membrane to Flush for 1 minute, then start making water and dump this first product water for 1 minute and then proceed to fill my RODI storage container.


    I preferably wanted to just have the membrane flush for 5 minutes after completing my RODI production when the container was full but since the RODI line must be running to allow a back flush I couldn't figure out how to do that.

    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    You also need a line to turn the flush solenoid off when the dump solenoid is ON to achieve your objective fully.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Posts
    125
    Thanks...didn't realize that.

  10. #10
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Posts
    125
    So my programming didn't work as expected. In order for my RO membrane to reverse flush, there has to be flow in either the dump line or RO line. The program resulted in the Flush solenoid opening but since the other two were closed no flushing occurred. I changed the programming to:

    StartFill
    If Low OPEN Then ON
    If High CLOSED Then OFF

    FLushSolenoid
    Set Off
    If Output StartFill=ON Then ON
    Defer 002:00 Then ON
    If Output RODI= ON Then OFF

    Dump Solenoid
    Set OFF
    If Output StartFill = ON Then ON
    If Output RODI = ON Then OFF

    RODI
    Set OFF
    If Output StartFill = ON Then ON
    Defer 005:00 Then ON

    This resulted in what I wanted: When
    start fill gets triggered- the dump solenoid opens and dumps the TDS creep water for two minutes, then the Flush solenoid opens and reverse flushes the membrane for 3 minutes, and finally they both close and the RODI solenoid opens and proceeds to produce new RODI water.


  11. #11
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    114
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    StartFill
    If Low OPEN Then ON
    If High CLOSED Then OFF
    Hey Zombie, I am going to be using part of this code for my RODI automation, so thanks! Just curious on the StartFill part not being given a set command (obviously if it was given a set command, it would only run off one of the sensors defeating the purpose), but what would happen if the water was midway in the container and the Apex was reset, would the default be on, or off?

  12. #12
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by DavidNZ View Post
    Hey Zombie, I am going to be using part of this code for my RODI automation, so thanks! Just curious on the StartFill part not being given a set command (obviously if it was given a set command, it would only run off one of the sensors defeating the purpose), but what would happen if the water was midway in the container and the Apex was reset, would the default be on, or off?
    There is not a well defined pattern for indeterminate states. It could do either ON or OFF. Honestly doesn't matter in the grand scheme of things.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    114
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    There is not a well defined pattern for indeterminate states. It could do either ON or OFF. Honestly doesn't matter in the grand scheme of things.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
    Oh I agree it doesn't matter. It was more out of curiosity than anything

  14. #14
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    212
    I do something like this, and in my storage tank I also ran my fill line through a mechanical float valve higher than the normal fill sensor as a mechanical backup to prevent any overflows.

Similar Threads

  1. Salt water storage for DOS AWC systems
    By porifera23 in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-13-2020, 06:56
  2. Help! Water Storage Programming
    By D-BO in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-30-2020, 08:21
  3. ATO for water storage container
    By myk5486 in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-24-2020, 16:06
  4. Water Storage Movement setup?
    By 1lastcast in forum Fluid Monitoring Module (FMM), FMK, ATK, LDK, and FMM Accessories
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-06-2020, 10:37
  5. RO/DI water storage
    By Douglro in forum Misc Aquarium Automation Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-18-2017, 16:51

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •