Thread: Salinity Probe Question

New User

Question Salinity Probe Question

Ok, this is a new build. Only weeks old, no livestock yet. Brand new Apex system. I'm brand new to Apex too although I've been in the hobby many years.

So I went through several days of communicating with Neptune Systems through a support ticket to get the salinity probe calibrated (there was a technical reason why I couldn't calibrate the probe and they really helped me out). Once calibrated I asked the question "Why does the Neptune Systems 53,000 uS/cm calibration fluid not work on refractometers (as they had indicated to me during the support ticket exchange)? Out of curiosity, I tested the 53,000 uS/cm fluid on my refractometer and it read 25 ppt not the 35 ppt I was expecting (which does indeed confirm their statement that you can't use that fluid on refractometers)." This was Neptune Systems Response:

Refractometers use a brine calibration solution typically calibrate them. Some use RO water to calibrate the refractometer. I would check with the manufacture of your refractometer. Also below is information about our probe and other measuring devices and how they will not read exactly.