Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Will the breakout box work with the EB8

  1. #1
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    US, Central Time
    Posts
    92

    Will the breakout box work with the EB8

    Got a new Energy Bar 8. Can I use my breakout box to work with that?
    Current Tank Info: Red Sea Reefer XL 425: 88gl Display, 24gl sump, Kessil AP700 Light, Varios 6 Return Pump, Reef Octopus Regal 150ENT Skimmer, Apex controller with 2 Wav Powerheads, BRS Dosing System for Cal and Alk, BRS Single Media Reactor

  2. #2
    Frequent Visitor Todd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    379
    How do you mean? The BoB interfaces with the Apex base and is used to read the status of switches. From there the status can be used to control the various outlets.

  3. #3
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    US, Central Time
    Posts
    92
    In addition to the Apex Base, I have added the Neptune energy bar 8 for additional outlets. I ran out of outlets on my base unit. I was curious if the BOB will work with those EB8 outlets as well.
    Current Tank Info: Red Sea Reefer XL 425: 88gl Display, 24gl sump, Kessil AP700 Light, Varios 6 Return Pump, Reef Octopus Regal 150ENT Skimmer, Apex controller with 2 Wav Powerheads, BRS Dosing System for Cal and Alk, BRS Single Media Reactor

  4. #4
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    10,786
    Quote Originally Posted by RussC View Post
    In addition to the Apex Base, I have added the Neptune energy bar 8 for additional outlets. I ran out of outlets on my base unit. I was curious if the BOB will work with those EB8 outlets as well.
    What do you mean by work with? The breakout box is for status input of floats and switches. It's not used to control anything, but you can utilize the switch status within your programming of any outlet real or virtual.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    US, Central Time
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    What do you mean by work with? The breakout box is for status input of floats and switches. It's not used to control anything, but you can utilize the switch status within your programming of any outlet real or virtual.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
    I want to add a magnetic switch to my BOB so a light turns on when I open my cabnet. If I plug that light in my EB8, can I program the light to accept the BOB code for the magnetic switch.
    Current Tank Info: Red Sea Reefer XL 425: 88gl Display, 24gl sump, Kessil AP700 Light, Varios 6 Return Pump, Reef Octopus Regal 150ENT Skimmer, Apex controller with 2 Wav Powerheads, BRS Dosing System for Cal and Alk, BRS Single Media Reactor

  6. #6
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    10,786
    Quote Originally Posted by RussC View Post
    I want to add a magnetic switch to my BOB so a light turns on when I open my cabnet. If I plug that light in my EB8, can I program the light to accept the BOB code for the magnetic switch.
    Yes. You can apply switch statuses to the code of any outlet.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    US, Central Time
    Posts
    92
    As always...appreciate the help.
    Current Tank Info: Red Sea Reefer XL 425: 88gl Display, 24gl sump, Kessil AP700 Light, Varios 6 Return Pump, Reef Octopus Regal 150ENT Skimmer, Apex controller with 2 Wav Powerheads, BRS Dosing System for Cal and Alk, BRS Single Media Reactor

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •