Thread: running ATO line

New User

running ATO line

First of all, I am a total Apex newb. In fact I just ordered the Apex EL. I am a freshwater user. I want to run a ATO. I am thinking about tapping into my water line via a icemaker kit. I do not need to treat the water because I am on a well. Will this work? I am also thinking about putting a solenoid on the line for extra protection. What do you think about the idea? My concerns is that if something goes wrong it will be a never ending flow into my sump.

If you take this approach, I would definately get a solenoid, a couple float switches, a mechanical float valve, and an inline flow restrictor. There is still a very small risk of a flood if both the mechanical float and the solenoid fail, but with a flow restrictor, you can significantly reduce the amount of water added in the event of an extremely rare failure mode.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

New User
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    If you take this approach, I would definately get a solenoid, a couple float switches, a mechanical float valve, and an inline flow restrictor. There is still a very small risk of a flood if both the mechanical float and the solenoid fail, but with a flow restrictor, you can significantly reduce the amount of water added in the event of an extremely rare failure mode.

Thanks for the input. To clarify it a little more. I am planning to buy the whole ATK kit. The solenoid I want to set up as the backup in case the optical sensors and float fails. It seems I can program the solenoid to turn off the water flow if it runs more than a set time. Is this correct? Also I am going to throw in a leak detector. The flow restrictor is a great idea too.

Quote Originally Posted by trucker den View Post