Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Basement Sump Connection to Main Floor Tank

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    ON - Ontario
    Posts
    7

    Basement Sump Connection to Main Floor Tank

    Hey guys,

    So my display tank is on the main floor of my house and the sump, filtration and Apex Neptune are in the basement. What exactly is the best or most practical way to connect the Apex to the display tank? The distance is around 20-25 feet in total and I would like to connect my (2) Tunze pumps and (3) AI Hydra 52HD's.

    This is what I need from what I have been reading, but if someone can confirm this it would be greatly appreciated.

    1) EB 8 or EB 832?
    2) USB Cable (M/M) - 25 foot run to connect the Apex 832 in the basement to the EB under the tank
    3) VDM Module (to control Tunze pumps ramp up/down)
    4) Tunze to Apex control cable

    Do I need any other module to connect the AI Hydra HD ?

    Thanks guys.

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    11,584
    The Hydras can be controlled over IOTA (through your network), so all you actually need is a VDM, a long aquabus cable, and the tunze to apex cable to control those.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    ON - Ontario
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    The Hydras can be controlled over IOTA (through your network), so all you actually need is a VDM, a long aquabus cable, and the tunze to apex cable to control those.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
    Thank you for all the help.

    Should the aquabus cable be (M/M) or (M/F). They sell both and its slightly confusing if I need Male/Male or Male/Female to make this work.

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    11,584
    Quote Originally Posted by shaginwagon13 View Post
    Thank you for all the help.

    Should the aquabus cable be (M/M) or (M/F). They sell both and its slightly confusing if I need Male/Male or Male/Female to make this work.

    Thanks!
    M/M if you want a cable to reach the whole length. M/F if you want to extend an existing cable.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    New User
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    ON - Ontario
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    M/M if you want a cable to reach the whole length. M/F if you want to extend an existing cable.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
    Thank you very much!

  6. #6
    Frequent Visitor mil3sdavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    124
    I have a similar setup, buy sump is directly below my tank so the distance for the cable is only about 10ft. I installed a wall plate with a USB jack in it upstairs behind my tank. The USB port in the wall jack is connected directly to an Aquabus cable. I also put two RJ-45 jacks there that are connected to the VDM ports on the Apex.

  7. #7
    New User
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    ON - Ontario
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by mil3sdavis View Post
    I have a similar setup, buy sump is directly below my tank so the distance for the cable is only about 10ft. I installed a wall plate with a USB jack in it upstairs behind my tank. The USB port in the wall jack is connected directly to an Aquabus cable. I also put two RJ-45 jacks there that are connected to the VDM ports on the Apex.
    We need some pics of these basement sump/controller setups! lol

  8. #8
    Frequent Visitor mil3sdavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by shaginwagon13 View Post
    We need some pics of these basement sump/controller setups! lol
    Here you go... kinda messy though.

    Upstairs, in tank stand.



    Jack on wall behind stand


    Basement next to sump

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •