Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Telegraf input plugin.

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Norcal
    Posts
    13

    Lightbulb Telegraf input plugin.

    Hi all,
    Setting up a new tank and already have quite a bit of home automation at home with an MQTT broker and InfluxDB for time series. So yeah, kind of a geek :P
    I'm interested in getting Apex data and using it in tandem with fusion to control home equipment, provide correlation and just geek out. Example use cases include:
    - Start A/C if tank temp is over X and the heater is off
    - Start house fan if PH is too high
    - Correlate PH with my co2 meter
    - etc.

    I looked at various ways to do this and since Apex provides a local XML connection with all the data, I'm thinking about writing a telegraf input plugin. This would allow me to get all the raw data as time series in influxdb and real-time data streaming onto my MQTT broker. That way I can achieve all my goals without requiring the Neptune team to provide an API or make any changes.

    So a few question for the community:
    - Is there something like this already out there I can use/contribute to instead of starting from scratch?
    - Is this other people might use? I also thought about creating an XML uploader client that sends data to a server, then create custom dispatch (MQTT, timeseries download, etc)

  2. #2
    New User
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    13
    You can pull plaintext data via telnet and monitor your inputs, outputs and virtual outputs like that. I was actually working on a .NET app to do something similar recently but had to put it on pause til the holiday season is over.

  3. #3
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    I have played around with Xpath a little bit and that seems to be the easiest way to do it. I ended up giving up though because my goal was to create an auto updating parameter log in a Google doc and it exceeded the equation and computation time limit for Google.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Norcal
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Satava View Post
    You can pull plaintext data
    I'm trying to do the opposite and take the data and put it into a structured database I control so the rest of my automation can use it.

  5. #5
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    22,492

    Telegraf input plugin.

    Quote Originally Posted by Satava View Post
    You can pull plaintext data via telnet and monitor your inputs, outputs and virtual outputs like that. I was actually working on a .NET app to do something similar recently but had to put it on pause til the holiday season is over.
    It's far better to use XML output from the Apex. telnet is for tech support/diagnostic purposes only; it is not intended as a user or machine interface.

    The various XML output data is well-structured and easy to work with.. I've used both perl and PHP to pull & parse. XML is also anonymously accessible, so there's no need to deal with authentication.
    Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  6. #6
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Norcal
    Posts
    13
    I forgot to update this thread but this has been done.
    https://github.com/influxdata/telegr...s/neptune_apex

Similar Threads

  1. Question: pH probe input alarm not triggering- do input alarms work with custom alarm programming?
    By frankyerrace in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-29-2021, 07:45
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-26-2019, 22:06
  3. Where do you plugin the 1LINK Plug? I have it plugged into the energy bar.
    By lextheimpaler in forum EnergyBars 832 / 632 / 8 / 6 / 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-03-2019, 16:24
  4. Question: Number 3 plugin not working
    By lsf in forum Apex Classic/Apex Lite/Apex Jr
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-10-2015, 09:14

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •