Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: ATO Float issue?

  1. #1
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    52

    ATO Float issue?

    I have backed out my programming to the absolute simplest in order to test my ATO

    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If ATOSw3 OPEN Then ON


    I had additional statements in there for a high level float switch as well as a defer statement to deal with float bounce. I dumbed it down to the above. I have no virtual outlet programming at all.


    Here is the problem I'm having. The output of the outlet bounces on and off very quickly, like once a second or less. When I have it set to auto. The float switch is not bouncing as the water level is completely below the level of the switch. If I change from "auto" to On the output stays on. Therefore I believe I can rule out the relay attached to the physical outlet.

    What would cause the float switch input to be so erratic? As I believe that might be the problem.



    Thanks in advance
    John

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor SuncrestReef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    3,105
    This is likely due to ripples in the water surface causing the optical sensor to rapidly switch between Open and Closed. To compensate for this, the Defer statements should be used:

    Defer 000:10 Then ON
    Defer 000:04 Then OFF

    This causes the Apex to wait for the optical sensor to be Open continuously for 10 seconds before turning the pump on, and Closed continuously for 4 seconds before turning the pump off. You can adjust these timers to your liking.

  3. #3
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    52
    Thanks for the reply but....
    In testing the water is below the level of the float switch, its NOT bouncing.

    I stated above I dumbed down the programming and removed the defer statement.

    I like the combination of defer statements you provided and will use them when I figure out the problem.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Has anybody experienced the break out box bouncing the level on / off? and if so why?

  4. #4
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    22,464
    First, check that both wires are securely connected to the BoB. If that's no the problem, do this test:

    Disconnect both float switch wires from the BoB for a couple of minutes. Does the switch input stay OPEN and the ATO outlet stay ON?
    Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. Float switch setup issue
    By NotEntirelyJack in forum AquaBus Modules, Probes, and Breakout Boxes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-09-2017, 07:12
  2. Question: ATO with one float
    By Leica in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-20-2014, 22:29
  3. ATO Optical Float
    By SP1965 in forum Pre-Sales Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-03-2013, 21:48
  4. Question: Auto Water Change issue with float valves
    By Aquaboogie in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-21-2013, 19:39
  5. Ato 2 float help
    By Dougn7110 in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-25-2013, 14:05

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •