Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 31

Thread: ATK Beginner Setup

  1. #1
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102

    ATK Beginner Setup

    I've just installed the ATK with a solenoid, and would like basic direction to get this topping off, or direction to the docs.

    I have the switches now showing in Fusion and I believe the solenoid as per the pic

    ATK.PNG

    Currently sump is low, so assume SW 1 & 2 should be open? Then I think I need code for LinkA_3_1 to respond to switches? Correct?

    - - - Updated - - -

    To add, I saw this code that I think I can recycle for my needs?

    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If Swx3_1 OPEN Then ON
    If Swx3_2 CLOSED Then OFF
    When On > 005:00 Then OFF
    Defer 000:10 Then ON
    Defer 000:04 Then OFF
    Min Time 020:00 Then OFF

  2. #2
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    Ok, on right track, solenoid opened, but now is closed before switches changed state. Thinking one of the time commands in my code shut me down. Any help on what each time code does?

  3. #3
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    The when command limits the runtime. That needs to be set long enough that it will never act under normal operation. I like to set it 1.5-2x the longest fill time in a 24 hour test period.

    I would also suggest making you min time statement 1 hour or longer so you don't prematurely wear out your solenoid by letting it run too often (right now it could turn on 72 times per day)

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    Thanks, I looked at that set to 5:00 and raised it to 15:00 and sorted out that was where the shut off happened. I'll modify the min time to 60:00, the reserve fills in less than 30. With the switches, what order are they in? I see my switch 2 just closed, but 1 is Open, I figured 1 would be the lower switch.
    Guessing I don't really need the defer commands in there?

  5. #5
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by Aquattro View Post
    Thanks, I looked at that set to 5:00 and raised it to 15:00 and sorted out that was where the shut off happened. I'll modify the min time to 60:00, the reserve fills in less than 30. With the switches, what order are they in? I see my switch 2 just closed, but 1 is Open, I figured 1 would be the lower switch.
    Guessing I don't really need the defer commands in there?
    The defers are necessary to prevent false positives in the switch states.

    Switch 1 is supposed to be the lower one, but every now and then one slips through labeled backward from the factory.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    2 is closing before 1, I suppose if they did get reversed, I can just change the plug ins vs the sensors. Although 2 is toggling between states and the bottom is fully covered, top sensor is half covered

  7. #7
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by Aquattro View Post
    2 is closing before 1, I suppose if they did get reversed, I can just change the plug ins vs the sensors. Although 2 is toggling between states and the bottom is fully covered, top sensor is half covered
    Make sure they are pressed in all the way before switching them. A lot of people don't realize it needs more oomph than your typical headphone jack to click in fully.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    Sorry, I had read that here last week, that did it. 1 was a bit loose, forced it in, switch closed, 2 is toggling due to being at the water line. Thanks

  9. #9
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    Another question. I watch, and switch 1 finally opens due to evap, and there is a lengthy delay in the solenoid opening, but log shows it only opened for 10 seconds.

    Using this code, why is that happening? I guess the defer statement, but that isn't what I expect from that statement, although I'm not clear on what the sequence should be with this code

    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If Swx3_1 OPEN Then ON
    If Swx3_2 CLOSED Then OFF
    When On > 030:00 Then OFF
    Defer 000:10 Then ON
    Defer 000:04 Then OFF
    Min Time 045:00 Then OFF


    I expect that when switch 1 opens, defer 10 seconds, then open solenoid for 30 minutes. I also expect I'm probably wrong!


    edit: add log

    Item Date Output State
    1 2019-02-03 08:46:52 -0800 Solenoid_3_1 ON
    2 2019-02-03 08:47:02 -0800 Solenoid_3_1 OFF
    3 2019-02-03 09:32:03 -0800 Solenoid_3_1 ON
    4 2019-02-03 09:32:49 -0800 Solenoid_3_1 OFF

    so 45:01 later, turns on again for 46 seconds. Confused.

  10. #10
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528
    The way it is programmed.

    Switch opens for a full 10secs, solenoid runs.

    Switch closes for a full 4 secs, solenoid closes.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  11. #11
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by vhuang168 View Post
    The way it is programmed.

    Switch opens for a full 10secs, solenoid runs.

    Switch closes for a full 4 secs, solenoid closes.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Which I thought about, but that isn't what's happening. The switch was open way longer than 10 seconds, and hasn't closed all morning. It won't close until I get about 20 minutes of solenoid open, and my thinking it shouldn't turn off until 30 min passes OR switch 2 closes.

  12. #12
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528
    The logs show the solenoid close but water is still coming out of the float valve?

    Where is the solenoid plugged into?

    Where is the programming you listed put into? The ATK outlet or somewhere else?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  13. #13
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    The code is applied to the solenoid, which is plugged into the FMM with the TPK switches. Really, the defer probably isn't even needed, I have no turbulence in the float area, but as water evaps, switch 2 opens at the high side, then later switch one opens, which should trigger the solenoid to open for up to 30 min per session, no sooner than every 45 min until switch 2 is closed again, which triggers an OFF command to solenoid. In my mind, anyway.

    Currently, ever 45:01, solenoi opens for random times, with no changes to switch status

  14. #14
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528
    That is not how the programming works.

    Switch 1 starts and stops the outlet.

    There is a delay when Fusion shows an actual change in state.

    If the logs show 10secs, then that’s how long the switch was open for.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  15. #15
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    Switch one only triggers open

    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If Swx3_1 OPEN Then ON <-----

    'switch 2 triggers CLOSED
    If Swx3_2 CLOSED Then OFF <------

    'If open
    When On > 030:00 Then OFF <--- this should keep it Open 30 min, Then off for 45:00 until repeat

    Right now, it does Open for random times, from 10 sec to just over 2 min, every 45 minutes

    Switch state of 1 and 2 have not changed all morning. Both are Open.

  16. #16
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    This is last 3 45 minute cycles, switch 1 & 2 have remained Open all morning

    Item Date Output State
    1 2019-02-03 08:46:52 -0800 Solenoid_3_1 ON
    2 2019-02-03 08:47:02 -0800 Solenoid_3_1 OFF
    3 2019-02-03 09:32:03 -0800 Solenoid_3_1 ON
    4 2019-02-03 09:32:49 -0800 Solenoid_3_1 OFF
    5 2019-02-03 10:00:00 -0800 Light1_2_1 ON
    6 2019-02-03 10:17:50 -0800 Solenoid_3_1 ON
    7 2019-02-03 10:19:43 -0800 Solenoid_3_1 OFF

  17. #17
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528

    ATK Beginner Setup

    That is incorrect.

    Programming is validated top to bottom. Last true statement gets excecuted.

    When switch 1 is closed, Set Off is the last true statement.

    Min time restricts the outlet from turning on to only once every 45 mins.

    Meaning it waits for 45 mins after it last ran to run again. So switch 1 will show open some of the time.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  18. #18
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    Ok, so by that logic, first statement that is True = Switch 1 is Open. Then solenoid should turn on, correct? Which it does, every 45 minutes, but from 10 second to 1:57 last Open. From top to bottom, True is Open, and no other True happens (switch 2 closed) with varying actions from solenoid, (toggling open/closed random times)

    Adding, once I have a True statement, ie, Switch 1=Open, water should top up until next True statement. That isn't happening

  19. #19
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528
    As I said, when switch 1 is closed, last true statement is Set Off.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  20. #20
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528
    Quote Originally Posted by vhuang168 View Post
    As I said, when switch 1 is closed, last true statement is Set Off.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


    Or rather, since there is no true statement when switch 1 is closed, outlet retains Set state which is Off.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  21. #21
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    Maybe I'm explaining this wrong Switch 1 is not closed. It's been Open all morning. Last night, when both 1 and 2 were closed, yes, nothing happened. Today, at low water, both switches are Open. Not closing at all.

    The behavior I expect is that when Switch 1 is Open, water comes into sump. That is only happening sporadically, with solenoid changing state without any change of state to either switch.

    The basics of what I think I need

    Fallback OFF <--housekeeping
    Set OFF <--housekeeping


    If Swx3_1 OPEN Then ON <--- should trigger solenoid Open to add water
    If Swx3_2 CLOSED Then OFF <--- next true once water hits high level, trigger solenoid Closed


    When On > 030:00 Then OFF <---more housekeeping/safety

  22. #22
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528
    You have a min time of 45 mins.

    Which means the outlet will not turn on even though switch 1 is open until it has been 45 mins after the last time it turned on.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  23. #23
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528
    Switch 2 only comes into play if switch 1 fails in the open position. Failsafe.

    Water should not hit switch 2 in normal operation.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  24. #24
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    Then what turns the solenoid off? Last On event closed after 1 second, no change in switch.

  25. #25
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528
    Set OFF.

    This turns the outlet off. Since there are no true statements after that when switch 1 is closed, the outlet turns off.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Help! Help beginner. Use and configuration Apex 2016
    By ronaldolopes.r in forum A2 Apex/ApexEL and A3 Apex Pro/Apex/Apex Jr
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-07-2018, 08:32
  2. beginner help please.
    By Leandre in forum WAV Powerheads
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-15-2016, 04:10
  3. Beginner in need of serious help......
    By ZachChauvin in forum Apex Classic/Apex Lite/Apex Jr
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-13-2016, 09:45
  4. Review My Program beginner-simple program not working for me?
    By Saltyrottie in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-18-2014, 05:36
  5. Beginner questions
    By ReeferMadness in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 12-10-2013, 16:00

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •