Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Solenoid Programming and not overfilling sump

  1. #1
    Frequent Visitor bescher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Nashotah WI
    Posts
    204

    Solenoid Programming and not overfilling sump

    The way my reservoir is setup and my sump it’s possible for my ATO to siphon in more water into my sump than I want it to. Yea I know the float will stop it but that more than I want.
    so I’m installing a solenoid
    I want it to open when the low level sensor opens
    and closes when it’s done

    below is my programming
    my solenoid is on my eb832, base1
    thanks


    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If AtkLow OPEN Then ON
    If AtkHig CLOSED Then OFF
    If ResLow OPEN Then OFF
    When On > 002:00 Then OFF
    Defer 010:00 Then ON
    Min Time 050:00 Then OFF

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    I would install a siphon break if you haven't already. This makes the need for the solenoid moot, but the solenoid can still act as a backup in case the siphon break fails.

    Set up the solenoid programming

    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If Output ATOpumpName = ON Then ON

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Frequent Visitor bescher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Nashotah WI
    Posts
    204
    So I need to crest a virtual outlet for the solenoid correct

    and then add the above to it

  4. #4
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    22,463
    No. Use that programming directly in the outlet to which the solenoid is connected.
    Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Frequent Visitor bescher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Nashotah WI
    Posts
    204
    Thanks but the solenoid is attached to the 24volt on the EB832 there isn’t anywhere to place it there unless I’m blind ( which I’m probably am)
    why is it considered a digital switch by the way

  6. #6
    Master Control Freak RussM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California - US Pacific
    Posts
    22,463
    As zombie said, using the siphon break is the “right answer”. If you feel it’s necessary to also use a solenoid, be aware that the flow rate will probably be noticeably reduced, and you will therefore probably have to modify the programming for the ATO accordingly.
    Please do not send me PMs with technical questions or requesting assistance - use the forums for Apex help. PM me ONLY if the matter is of a private or personal nature. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528
    If the solenoid is connected to 1 of the 2 DC24 ports on the EB832, then the outlets you want to look for will be named LinkA_#_# and LinkB_#_#. If you look at the top of the energy bar where the lights confirming the on/off status of the outlets, there are 2 labeled A and B. Those correspond to the same 2 DC 24 outlets.

  8. #8
    Frequent Visitor bescher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Nashotah WI
    Posts
    204
    My worry ( I have a trigger system five gallon reservoir ) the syphon spraying water all over the place. I’ve tried it. The reservoir has several holes on the top of it and using the syphon has caused water to spray through holes. That’s the reason why I haven’t used it. I’ve gone through three of them thinking they were broke when the ATK first came out. I still have all three of them sitting on my desk. ( remember all those phone calls from folks Russ)
    I had a solenoid on the classic then moved up to the 2016 and forgot about the programming

  9. #9
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528
    You had the hole on the side of the siphon break pointed down right?

  10. #10
    Frequent Visitor bescher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Nashotah WI
    Posts
    204
    Quote Originally Posted by vhuang168 View Post
    You had the hole on the side of the siphon break pointed down right?
    Yes, if you remember right when the ATK first came out ( I bought mine within the first week) there were no instructions) I called and got sent a new one and then a third the third had the instructions and clarified ways.

  11. #11
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528
    Still a little confused about how a siphon break with the hole pointed down inside a reservoir can spray water out. I looked at the ATO reservoirs from Trigger systems and while there are some holes, they aren't very big.

  12. #12
    Frequent Visitor bescher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Nashotah WI
    Posts
    204
    When you have your water level full and the syphon break is up against the top and you JUST HAPPEN TO LEAVE THE FILL COVER OFF BELIEVE ME IT MAKES A MESS.
    IF YOU DONT BELIEVE ME BUY ONE AND TRY IT ������������

    oh and have a wife that is very watchful of even a little water on the floor������

  13. #13
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    528
    So it happens when you leave the cover off? That is absolutely possible.

    I have a very similar ATO reservoir is why I’m curious as to why you are getting as much water was you say you are comparing to my own experience, which is no water at all.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  14. #14
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Dartmouth / AST
    Posts
    64
    I simply put a piece of larger piece of tubing 'around' the siphon break. It just sprays inside the larger tube.

Similar Threads

  1. Help! Help programming a sump light
    By Diggler in forum Apex Programming for Lighting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-01-2019, 05:47
  2. Help! ATK Overfilling
    By Jay1982 in forum Apex Programming for Dosing, ATO, and AWC
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-14-2018, 20:58
  3. ATK overfilling after reset
    By nullbreached in forum Fluid Monitoring Module (FMM), FMK, ATK, LDK, and FMM Accessories
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2018, 08:49
  4. ATK stand alone + solenoid in a big sump = alarme and shut off
    By reefsolution in forum Fluid Monitoring Module (FMM), FMK, ATK, LDK, and FMM Accessories
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-05-2017, 15:02
  5. Programming for sump door
    By Atti2de in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-12-2015, 20:51

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •