Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Turning Kessil A360 to specific Int/Col during a feed mode for coral viewing

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Orangeville, Ontario
    Posts
    7

    Turning Kessil A360 to specific Int/Col during a feed mode for coral viewing

    First forum, first post! Like my grandma I feel like calling someone to see if they got it.

    I've been messing around with my apex for a bit now and have just begun getting into custom/advanced programming (as opposed to using the wizards).

    My goal here is to, at the click of a button, turn off pumps and "blue" my Kessil for approx. 30 min to see my sps/lps really pop.

    I've set up FeedB to deal with the pump/powerhead for 30min but got stuck on the light.... I tried creating 2 ramp profiles for the lights (view_Int, view_Col) with a ramp time of 1 and 20% start/end for both and added "If FeedB Then view_Int" in my Kessil's Int Variable outlet and similar for my Kessil's Col outlet but no luck.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. One note: I'm just starting to try my hand at some custom programming but have a long ways to go so please keep it simpleish or have patients.



    I also have a feed mode setup that turns off my return, skimmer and has my mp10 operate at 30% in lagoon before 5 min of NTM using 2 profiles I created. Now I'd like to add that my Mp10 turns off for the first few min.... My brain just won't cooperate even though I suspect it's brutally simple. Would adding "If FeedA 003 Then OFF" at the end work?
    Thiis what I'm using:
    If FeedA 005 Then Mp10_NuTran
    If FeedA 000 Then Mp10_Feed

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    12,374
    Your approach on the kessils should have worked. The correct approach as of a firmware update when the COR released though is

    If FeedB 000 Then 20


    For the MP question, you need to adjust your feed duration to however long you want the MPs off. If for example feedA is currently 5 minutes and you want 2 minutes off you will need

    If FeedA 008 Then Mp10_NuTran
    If FeedA 003 Then Mp10_Feed
    If FeedA 000 Then OFF

    You will also have to add 3 minutes to the feed statement in every other place it's used to keep the 5 minute time intact.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Orangeville, Ontario
    Posts
    7
    Brilliant re the lights! I was making it a bit complicated and using up profiles for nothing;-).

    Still working out the Mp one... What I would like to happen when I press Feed A is:
    -Mp off for 2 min
    -MP10_Feed for 23min
    -Mp10_NuTran for 5 min (after the return turns back on)
    -return off for 25
    -skimmer off for 27

    I had FeedA set for 30min and was trying to work within that but I'm getting the feeling the time allotted to feed mode is kinda irrelevant, the most important thing is it's a button/switch. Correct?

    Will this work? Is there a proper/better way or are they all kinda same same?
    (FeedA 30min)
    -Return
    If FeedA 025 Then ON
    If FeedA 000 Then OFF
    -Skimmer
    If FeedA 027 Then ON
    If FeedA 000 Then OFF
    -Mp10
    If FeedA 025 Then Mp10_NuTran (or should this be 027)
    If FeedA 002 Then Mp10_Feed
    If FeedA Then OFF

    Sorry, guess this kinda turned into an Mp/feed mode question.

  4. #4
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    12,374
    No. You need to do this.

    (FeedA 2min)
    -Return
    If FeedA 023 Then OFF
    -Skimmer
    If FeedA 025 Then OFF
    -Mp10
    If FeedA 028 Then Mp10_NuTran
    If FeedA 023 Then Mp10_Feed
    If FeedA 000 Then OFF



    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    New User
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Orangeville, Ontario
    Posts
    7
    What is telling Mp10_NuTran when to turn off?

  6. #6
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    12,374
    Quote Originally Posted by Travel View Post
    What is telling Mp10_NuTran when to turn off?
    Nothing explicitly tells it to turn off. Profiles are activated only when it is the last true line. When the line is false, whatever above it that is true (like a set statement or wizard program) will take over. Apex coding always uses the rule "the last true line wins".

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    New User
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Orangeville, Ontario
    Posts
    7
    Works! ....but I have no idea how or why now.... Ha, I'll stare at the code for a while and do some more reading. ....and just when I thought I had a tiny grasp on it;-)

    Thanks zombie!!!

  8. #8
    New User
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Orangeville, Ontario
    Posts
    7
    No, check that ...doesn't work. Mp10_NuTran (Mp NTM) comes on way too soon... seems like after 2 min.

  9. #9
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    12,374
    Quote Originally Posted by Travel View Post
    No, check that ...doesn't work. Mp10_NuTran (Mp NTM) comes on way too soon... seems like after 2 min.
    See post 4. I didn't read my changes before clicking send.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    New User
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Orangeville, Ontario
    Posts
    7
    Thanks again, works like a charm!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •