Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Programming ( scaling ) question !!

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5

    Programming ( scaling ) question !!

    Hi, im currently setting up a new setup all control with 2 plc Allen bradley micro850 and micro820 and hmi delta dop-b !

    I was considering buying an apex only for monitoring the salinity, ph, and temperature.

    Heres my question, is it possible to scale the input trough the 0-10v output of the apex

    Exemple of proportionnal scaling i want to do !

    scale
    0-100.00 fahrenheit to 0-10v
    0-10.00 ph to 0-10v
    0-100ms/cm to 0-10v

    thanks, in advanced

    oli

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Not in a user friendly way. the only way it could do so is like this and you can only get precision to 100 steps.

    Set 0
    If temp > 21.0 Then 1
    If temp > 22.0 Then 2
    ...
    If temp > 120 Then 100

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5
    is there's a maximum programming line for each output or i can program 200 statement ?

  4. #4
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by olivierM View Post
    is there's a maximum programming line for each output or i can program 200 statement ?
    Not 100% sure. I have never used more than 50 lines of code in an outlet. I would presume their might be a 128 line limit but you would need max 100 code lines to get the most precision the apex is capable of.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    New User
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5
    OOh, so no floating point i assumed ;/ well thanks for answering apex wont be for me then !

  6. #6
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by olivierM View Post
    OOh, so no floating point i assumed ;/ well thanks for answering apex wont be for me then !
    If you need high precision, your best bet honestly is to use either 4-20mA or modus industrial sensors. Those can get quite expensive, but you are already using Allen Bradley PLCs, so I assume $200-500 sensors aren't a huge deal.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    New User
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5
    Yes but the only thing i cant get is the capability to monitor over LTE thats why i was considering apex as well as the conductivity sensor since an industrial one with a 4-20 output are pretty expensive the cheapest i have found are basically the price of the apex itself !

  8. #8
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by olivierM View Post
    Yes but the only thing i cant get is the capability to monitor over LTE thats why i was considering apex as well as the conductivity sensor since an industrial one with a 4-20 output are pretty expensive the cheapest i have found are basically the price of the apex itself !
    Another option is to reduce the output range to get more precision at the expense of a smaller range.

    Eg set your PLC scaling to 0V = 30 ppt and 10V = 40 ppt and add a quality flag to 0V or 10V readings.

    In apex

    Set 0
    If cond > 30.0 Then 1
    If cond > 30.1 Then 2
    ...
    If cond > 40.0 Then 100


    This should get you reasonable precision if you choose your "scaling" to be within reasonable ranges rather than the probe range capabilities.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    New User
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5
    That would probably work!!

    What are the apex resolution for temp and salinity !?

  10. #10
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Quote Originally Posted by olivierM View Post
    That would probably work!!

    What are the apex resolution for temp and salinity !?
    The apex resolution is 0.1 ppt for salinity and 0.01 pH for pH, and temp to 0.1 degree F. Assuming this is for a reef tank, I would personally use these ranges

    Conductivity 30 ppt to 40 ppt

    pH 7.6 to 8.6 for tank (or 7.1 to 9.1 if you think you need more range) or 5 to 8 for a calcium reactor.

    Temp 68 to 88



    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Help! Disable auto-scaling on graphs.
    By ChandlerAz in forum APEX Fusion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-22-2022, 21:36
  2. New Apex User; new LSM: need help scaling intensity
    By funkmuffin in forum Apex Programming for Lighting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2019, 10:06
  3. Question: Scaling of plots
    By ChangNoiRoy in forum APEX Fusion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-17-2017, 12:19
  4. Question Programming 2 WP 40's
    By krobojr in forum Apex Programming for Vortech, Tunze, & Other Controllable Pumps
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-13-2013, 17:46
  5. Programming Question...
    By jordancemery65 in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-12-2013, 16:04

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •