Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: better to have both heaters cycle on/off or one stay on

  1. #1
    Regular Vistor
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    24

    better to have both heaters cycle on/off or one stay on

    I have a 60g with 2 150w heaters. Now that its getting cold overnight my 1 heater basically stays on and keeps the temperature about steady overnight at 78.~. Is this a perfect scenario or is it better to have both heaters kick on at the same temperature and let them both cycle on and off? Does it matter for the longevity of the heater itself?

    Heater 1
    Fallback ON
    If Temp < 78.2 Then ON
    If Temp > 79.0 Then OFF
    If Temp < 68.0 Then OFF

    Heater 2
    Fallback OFF
    If Temp < 78.1 Then ON
    If Temp > 79.0 Then OFF
    If Temp < 68.0 Then OFF

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor Alain B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    2,568
    I have 2 heater in my tank , they alternate with a 4 hours schedule . Also i have a 'high heat " outlet to turn on both if the tank temp is not raising fast enough . Its cold here in the winter !!

    Alain

    Capture.PNGCapture 1.PNGCapture 2.PNG

  3. #3
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    182
    i got 2 heaters and have plugged into same spot on energy bar,is that not a good idea

  4. #4
    Frequent Visitor BertL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Carlsbad, CA
    Posts
    775
    Quote Originally Posted by budman View Post
    i got 2 heaters and have plugged into same spot on energy bar,is that not a good idea
    You can do what you have done as long as you're not exceeding the ratings on that outlet (and overall EB and circuit) when both heaters are on.

    Other than that, IMHO, it all comes down to one's philosophy what you want to do. There are many opinions. Some people are more fancy than others as you can see from just Alain's sample here, and you'll find many other setups in other threads with a few searches. Me, well, I live in fairly temperate climate, I've not yet convinced myself of a need for seasonal temp variation, but have two heaters in my sump each with their own thermostat set 1 degree higher than my target, and important to my "disaster recovery" design -- each plugged into a separate outlet on a different EB that is each on a separate circuit and GFCI. My Apex turns both heaters on/off as a pair based on temp in my DT, but should my controller hang they'll both be on during Fallback using their own thermostats; or if one of my EBs or circuits click off, the other heater is sized to keep the tank within an acceptable range while I'm resolving the electrical issue -- after of course I've been notified by my Apex (or Reeftronics) that something has gone wrong.
    Bert

  5. #5
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    182
    Thanks for that info and taking time to reply all that.Also,Do i need it plugged into the #4 or 8 spot on my EB?
    Right now its been plugged into #1 for the past couple months

  6. #6
    Frequent Visitor BertL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Carlsbad, CA
    Posts
    775
    You're probably fine. To my point above, EB8 outlets 1-3,5-7 are a max of 5A and 4,8 are 10A. The triac outlet you're using is also quieter should you be having your Apex turn it on and off more often.
    Bert

  7. #7
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    207
    Alain600

    - - - Updated - - -

    Alain600

    in your programing what is RT?

  8. #8
    Frequent Contributor Alain B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    2,568
    The RT+ command is use when you want to use the season table for temperature control instead of a fixed temperature setting .

    Alain

  9. #9
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    207
    I am new to APEX Programing so I am learning. I have a couple questions. What turns HEATER_A and HEATER_B on and off? there are only On statements based on Temp except for the statement meant to ensure the probe is working. Also I don't quite understand the RT+-0.1

    If the temp for the day is 77, the statement "If Temp < RT+0.0 Then ON" would turn on the pump on at 76.9?

    If the temp for the day is 77, the statement "If Temp < RT+-0.1 Then ON would turn on the pump on at 76.8?


    I want my QT tank to be the same temp as my Display. Will this program work?

    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If QT_TMP < RT+0.0 Then ON
    If Temp > RT+-0.1 Then OFF
    If QT_TMP < 70.0 Then OFF
    If Outlet QT_Pump_1 = OFF Then OFF

  10. #10
    Frequent Contributor Alain B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    2,568
    The goal in my programming is to maintain the water temperature as close as possible to the reference temperature ( RT+ ) who is set by the season table , and if this temperature drop too fast or too suddenly to enable the second heater to help the first one raise the temperature to the RT+ level .


    The " Set OFF " set the primary state of the outlet .
    If " Temp probe " < RT+0.0 Then ON : will turn ON the outlet as soon as temperature drop .1 from the RT+ level and turn it OFF when RT+ is reach .
    If " Temp probe " < RT+-0.1 Then ON : will turn ON the second heater if the temperature drop .02 from the RT+ level and turn it OFF when RT+ minus .01 is reach .

    In your case and if you dont have a heater native thermostat use :

    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If " Temp probe " < RT+0.0 Then ON

    All other statement shall be added at the end .

    Alain

  11. #11
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    207
    Ahh!!! So you actually do not need to tell it to turn off because it will do so when you are back to RT+


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Frequent Contributor Alain B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    2,568
    Exactly !

    Alain

Similar Threads

  1. Help! New COR 20 does not stay on
    By roberthu526 in forum COR-15 & COR-20 Pumps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-30-2021, 20:02
  2. Greetings - Quick Feed Cycle question for no drum rotation on manual Feed Cycle press
    By SubmarinePilot in forum Misc Apex Usage & Programming
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-05-2020, 09:38
  3. Lights Just Stay On
    By MHG in forum Apex Programming for Lighting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-26-2018, 19:28
  4. Par values stay the same
    By marksw in forum Advanced Sensor Module (ASM) and PAR Monitoring Kit
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-25-2017, 15:37
  5. I want my skimmer to stay off.
    By osiclown in forum Apex Classic/Apex Lite/Apex Jr
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 05-26-2015, 19:12

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •