Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: battery back up

New User

battery back up

i am new to the apex and noticed that the system runs on 12v dc
    how or can you hook up a 12v marine battery to this system as back up
    sort of like a back up for you sump in alot of houses

thanks in advance for the help

The issue with using a marine battery is that you need to keep it charged manually, and they are relatively bulky. You can use a small but quality UPS and a 12v adapter. Or pick up a Belkin BU3DC001-12V on ebay - it will plug right into the Apex - they are compact, and the easiest and least expensive solution.

Frequent Contributor jrlamountain's Avatar

Re: battery back up

How long will the belkin UPC run the apex?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

Quote Originally Posted by jrlamountain View Post
    How long will the belkin UPC run the apex?
    I really don;'t know... I use a UPS which will power my Apex, router, switch, and cable modem for about 4 hours. But I suspect taht the Belkin unit will power the Apex base unit alone for quite a few hours.

Of course, in order to be notified of a power outage by the Apex via email, your Apex, wireless adapter (if used), router, and cable/DSL modem all must have backup power.

New User
    sorry for bring dumb, but what is a ups?????

as far as a battery I have that squared away like I do with my classic cars small trickle / controller that puts out .5amps to regen battery then shuts off
    works great for them long winters when I don't drive them

marine or deep cycles that I get will power a car for 375 min., mind you that's a lot more electronics running than my reef tank set up
    and yes my wireless will be hooked into the back up battery and not the main router

Regular Vistor
    A UPS is an uninterruptible power supply, basically a big battery.

here is the one I just bought: http://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-CP8...er+power+cp850