Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Simple, alternating, Gyre xf250s.

  1. #1
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    72

    Simple, alternating, Gyre xf250s.

    Hello,

    I need a review of why I cannot get my 2 gyre xf250 to simply alternate:

    Gyre 1 - ON for 90 seconds (ramp up from 85-100%), then off for 90 seconds

    Gyre 2 - OFF for 90 seconds, then ON for 90(same ramp)



    Screenshot_20180515-110258.jpgScreenshot_20180515-110310.jpg

  2. #2
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    Not gonna work the way you have it. You need to do this, where RampUp is a 1 min ramp from 85 to 100

    GyreTime
    OSC 000:00/001:30/001:30 Then ON

    Left
    Set OFF
    If Output GyreTime = ON Then RampUp

    Right
    Set OFF
    If Output GyreTime = OFF Then RampUp

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  3. #3
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    Not gonna work the way you have it. You need to do this, where RampUp is a 1 min ramp from 85 to 100

    GyreTime
    OSC 000:00/001:30/001:30 Then ON

    Left
    Set OFF
    If Output GyreTime = ON Then RampUp

    Right
    Set OFF
    If Output GyreTime = OFF Then RampUp

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.
    Zombie,

    So I created a profile for RampUp as instructed.

    Is Gyretime the name of just one of the outlets (LeftGyre)?

  4. #4
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    No. It's a virtual outlet.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  5. #5
    Frequent Contributor iamchadster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Wilsonville, Oregon
    Posts
    2,639
    I'm just gonna say it and I'm gonna get kicked out of the circle of trust lol, but I just prefer to use the Gyre controller. It is simpler and I never found the Icecap module to be that reliable. It is really cheaply built and overpriced IMO. Also, I found that all the programming I had to do with the Apex to get it to do what I wanted it was just simpler to do with the Gyre controller.

    Trust me, from my posts you can see I'm certainly an Apex fan, but until the interface and maybe a better wizard is created like it is for the WAV's and MP40's, I just feel the Gyre controller is simpler. I do realize that you lose some of the automation with feed modes etc, but I generally leave them on when I feed and haven't found a lot of reason to turn them off unless I do a WC and that's only once per week.

    Just my 2 cents..
    Chad

  6. #6
    NSI Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    US, Central Time
    Posts
    40
    I just installed a pair of XF250s on my tank this week and have been wondering if it was worth pulling the trigger on the IC modules. There is a rumor that Maxspect and Neptune are working on integrating the controller and Apex via the ICV6 though, which would only cost an extra $50 to get onboard with. Fingers crossed.

  7. #7
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by kev2lz View Post
    I just installed a pair of XF250s on my tank this week and have been wondering if it was worth pulling the trigger on the IC modules. There is a rumor that Maxspect and Neptune are working on integrating the controller and Apex via the ICV6 though, which would only cost an extra $50 to get onboard with. Fingers crossed.
    I have the icecap modules, that would be nice if that rumor came true

  8. #8
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    No. It's a virtual outlet.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.
    Ok. Creates a virtual outlet called "Gyretime" and entered in the advance programming:OSC 000:00/001:30/001:30 Then ON

    I then changed the gyre 1 and 2 outlet as you stated.

    Now I guess I just add the tile to my homepage and keep it on auto going forward? Does using a VO impact other feed commands etc. for the outlets?

  9. #9
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    You can hide the tile. Just make sure it's in AUTO. It's just an intermediary step.

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  10. #10
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    Not gonna work the way you have it. You need to do this, where RampUp is a 1 min ramp from 85 to 100

    GyreTime
    OSC 000:00/001:30/001:30 Then ON

    Left
    Set OFF
    If Output GyreTime = ON Then RampUp

    Right
    Set OFF
    If Output GyreTime = OFF Then RampUp

    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.
    Zombie,

    What coding can I add, to have this alternating happen between 8am-8pm only. Then have a similar program for night hours, but with lower intensities ranging btw 50%-60%?

  11. #11
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    You would need 4 VOs like this


    LGyreDay
    OSC 000:00/001:30/001:30 Then ON
    If Time 20:00 to 07:59 Then OFF

    LGyreNight
    OSC 000:00/001:30/001:30 Then ON
    If Time 08:00 to 19:59 Then OFF

    RGyreDay
    OSC 001:30/001:30/000:00 Then ON
    If Time 20:00 to 07:59 Then OFF

    RGyreNight
    OSC 001:30/001:30/000:00 Then ON
    If Time 08:00 to 19:59 Then OFF

    Left
    Set OFF
    If Output LGyreDay = ON Then RampUpD
    If Output LGyreNight = ON Then RampUpN


    Right
    Set OFF
    If Output RGyreDay = ON Then RampUpD
    If Output RGyreNight = ON Then RampUpN





    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

  12. #12
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by zombie View Post
    You would need 4 VOs like this


    LGyreDay
    OSC 000:00/001:30/001:30 Then ON
    If Time 20:00 to 07:59 Then OFF

    LGyreNight
    OSC 000:00/001:30/001:30 Then ON
    If Time 08:00 to 19:59 Then OFF

    RGyreDay
    OSC 001:30/001:30/000:00 Then ON
    If Time 20:00 to 07:59 Then OFF

    RGyreNight
    OSC 001:30/001:30/000:00 Then ON
    If Time 08:00 to 19:59 Then OFF

    Left
    Set OFF
    If Output LGyreDay = ON Then RampUpD
    If Output LGyreNight = ON Then RampUpN


    Right
    Set OFF
    If Output RGyreDay = ON Then RampUpD
    If Output RGyreNight = ON Then RampUpN





    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.
    If my Tapatalk had a like button...

  13. #13
    Frequent Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    72
    Zombie,

    So after a few days, I've concluded that I like this pattern but no longer want the "off" side to be at 0%.

    Suppose I want the "off" side to now ramp from 30%-50%?

  14. #14
    Frequent Contributor zombie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    13,176
    LGyreDay
    OSC 000:00/001:30/001:30 Then ON
    If Time 20:00 to 07:59 Then OFF

    LGyreNight
    OSC 000:00/001:30/001:30 Then ON
    If Time 08:00 to 19:59 Then OFF

    RGyreDay
    OSC 001:30/001:30/000:00 Then ON
    If Time 20:00 to 07:59 Then OFF

    RGyreNight
    OSC 001:30/001:30/000:00 Then ON
    If Time 08:00 to 19:59 Then OFF

    Left
    Set OFF
    If Output LGyreDay = ON Then RampUpD
    If Output LGyreNight = ON Then RampUpN
    If Output RGyreDay = ON Then RampDnD
    If Output RGyreNight = ON Then RampDnN

    Right
    Set OFF
    If Output RGyreDay = ON Then RampUpD
    If Output RGyreNight = ON Then RampUpN
    If Output LGyreDay = ON Then RampDnD
    If Output LGyreNight = ON Then RampDnN




    You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

Similar Threads

  1. Alternating Gyre Mode
    By Spdjnky in forum Apex Programming for Vortech, Tunze, & Other Controllable Pumps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-01-2020, 12:22
  2. Alternating Gyre with Icecap module
    By SuncrestReef in forum Apex Programming for Vortech, Tunze, & Other Controllable Pumps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-2019, 16:21
  3. 2 Gyre 150 Icecap Alternating Pulse
    By lindersen in forum Apex Programming for Vortech, Tunze, & Other Controllable Pumps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-25-2017, 19:32
  4. Help! 2 XF150 gyres Alternating Gyre Mode
    By lindersen in forum Apex Programming for Vortech, Tunze, & Other Controllable Pumps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-04-2016, 16:12
  5. Question: Alternating Gyre pump. Is my code correct?
    By 91mini in forum Apex Programming for Vortech, Tunze, & Other Controllable Pumps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-17-2016, 12:13

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •